← All Articles ARCOM Osteopathic Medicine: Admissions Guide 2026-2027

ARCOM Osteopathic Medicine: Admissions Guide 2026-2027

ARCOM DO admissions guide for 2026-2027: AACOMAS deadlines, prerequisites, MCAT guidance, optional Casper, on-campus interviews, and tuition.

0 views
Arkansas College of Osteopathic MedicineOsteopathic MedicineFort Smith, Arkansas, United States2026-2027 cycle

ARCOM offers a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine program in Fort Smith, Arkansas. Admissions include an AACOMAS application, a secondary for selected applicants, and an on-campus interview. ARCOM encourages but does not require Casper and reviews applicants for academic preparation, service, and fit with its mission.

Program
Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO)
Credential
DO
Location
Fort Smith, Arkansas, United States
Casper
Optional (recommended)
Next deadline
April 16, 2027 (AACOMAS primary application deadline)
Interview
One-on-one interviews
Seats
ARCOM states it accepts a class of 150 each year.

Casper Requirement for Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Osteopathic Medicine

Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Osteopathic Medicine recommends Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle but does not require it: applications are considered with or without a score.

Languages
English
Applicant ID to enter
AACOMAS ID

Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.

ARCOM encourages Casper but does not require it. Duet and Snapshot are not considered in admissions.

Casper format

Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.

Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.

Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Osteopathic Medicine Application Deadlines 2026-2027

Apply through
AACOMAS
Applications open
May 4, 2026
Application fee
$198 AACOMAS fee for one school, plus $60 for each additional designation; ARCOM secondary application: $0.
WhatWhen
AACOMAS primary application deadlineApril 16, 2027upcoming
Supplemental application deadlineApril 30, 2027upcoming

Apply through AACOMAS. ARCOM reviews applications and makes offers on a rolling basis; a secondary invitation expires after 30 days. AACOMAS offers its own application fee-waiver program.

Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Osteopathic Medicine Admissions Statistics

  • Seats / class size: ARCOM states it accepts a class of 150 each year.
  • Average GPA: Mean cumulative undergraduate GPA 3.56 (AACOM profile; reporting year not stated)
  • Average test score: Mean MCAT 498.7 (AACOM profile; reporting year not stated)
  • COMLEX-USA Level 1 first-time pass rate, AY2025-2026: 89.40% (151 examinees)

ARCOM maintains selectivity through holistic review.

Eligibility Requirements for Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Osteopathic Medicine

Degree / credits

At least 90 credit hours, or three-fourths of the credits required for a degree, from an institution accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education; a completed bachelor's degree is not required for admission.

Citizenship

U.S. citizens and permanent residents only; international applicants are not accepted.

Admission pathways

  • ACHE MSB linkage: Qualified MSB students may receive guaranteed acceptance with a fall-semester GPA of at least 3.2, cumulative MSB GPA of at least 3.0, good standing, required recommendations, and a verified AACOMAS application; MSB graduates with a 3.0 cumulative GPA in good standing may qualify for a guaranteed interview.

Complete ARCOM's stated prerequisite coursework and submit a verified AACOMAS application. AACOMAS offers an application fee-waiver program.

Other requirements

  • Signed technical standards: Required with the secondary application and recommendation letters before an interview invitation can be sent.
  • Acceptance deposit: A nonrefundable $2,000 deposit secures a seat and is applied to first-semester tuition.

Selection Factors Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Considers

Prerequisites

CourseRequirement
Biological sciences with lab8 semester hours
Biochemistry3 semester hours
Inorganic or general chemistry with lab8 semester hours
Organic chemistry with lab8 semester hours
Physics with lab8 semester hours
Additional science electives4 semester hours
English composition and literature6 semester hours

GPA

Minimum
No set minimum
Competitive
ARCOM says most students have an overall GPA above 3.5 and science GPA above 3.4; applicants below those levels may be considered.

Prerequisite courses must be taken for credit and passed with a grade of 2.0 or better. Upper-division science grades receive particular scrutiny.

Admissions tests

  • MCAT (required): No minimum score; ARCOM describes 500 or higher as competitive. AACOM lists May 1, 2023 as the oldest accepted test date and March 16, 2027 as the latest accepted test date for this cycle. Official scores must be verified in AACOMAS.

Experience and volunteer hours

Recommended.

ARCOM sets no minimum volunteer or shadowing hours but strongly encourages both. AACOM says only in-person shadowing is accepted.

Supplementary application

A secondary application is required for selected applicants and has no fee. Provide a letter from a physician with whom you have worked in healthcare (DO preferred; MD accepted), plus a premedical/professional committee letter or two natural-science professor letters.

How applicants are ranked

ARCOM reviews complete, verified AACOMAS applications for academic ability, commitment to osteopathic medicine, community service, professionalism, communication, integrity, and mission fit. Selected applicants receive a secondary and may be invited to interview. Admission offers follow interviews on a rolling basis.

Interview Format at Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine

Format: One-on-one interviews

The on-campus interview includes a 30-minute conversation with a faculty member and a community representative, a campus tour, and opportunities to learn about the program.

Who is invited
Selected competitive applicants with a complete application who meet admissions requirements and technical standards.
When
Interviews generally run from late July or early August through April or early May; individual invitations provide scheduling details.

Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.

Prepare for Casper and Your Interview

Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.

Start Practicing Free

Curriculum at Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Osteopathic Medicine

Structure

The first two years feature a blended helix curriculum integrating lecture, team-based learning, and interactive strategies. Clinical years build on this foundation through rotations at affiliated sites.

Campuses
Fort Smith

Emphasizing interdisciplinary collaboration, the curriculum guides students to develop a holistic osteopathic approach to medicine. Osteopathic Principles and Practices (OPP) provides hands-on training in diagnosis and treatment; students master manipulative techniques early. ARCOM also offers a Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences and Master of Public Health alongside the DO track.

Campus and facilities

Located in Fort Smith, Arkansas, the campus supports osteopathic training with facilities for helix curriculum delivery and OPP labs. Clinical affiliations provide rural and underserved community exposure, aligning with ARCOM's mission.

Tuition and Funding at Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine

  • 2026-2027 annual tuition, in-state and out-of-state: $60,500
  • 2026-2027 annual resident fees: $665
  • Acceptance deposit, applied to tuition: $2,000

Published tuition and fees are not a guaranteed rate for incoming students.

Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine's Mission and Values

Clinical affiliations provide rural and underserved community exposure, aligning with ARCOM's mission.

Emphasizing an interdisciplinary collaboration, the curriculum guides students to develop a holistic, and more importantly, an osteopathic approach to medicine.

What Applicants Are Saying

Students report a supportive environment despite COMLEX outcomes, often citing the program's focus on practical osteopathic skills. Matriculated students describe ARCOM's culture as collaborative, with peers valuing the helix model's variety despite COMLEX challenges.

Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.

How to Prepare Your Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Osteopathic Medicine Application

  1. Verify eligibility and gather a physician letter (DO preferred) and either a committee letter or two natural-science professor letters.
  2. If you choose to take Casper, check Acuity Insights for available sittings and practice ethical and interpersonal scenarios.
  3. Review ARCOM's MCAT guidance and strengthen areas of weakness with official resources.
  4. Draft your AACOMAS application and secondary to highlight clinical experience and service.
  5. Practice a sustained conversation about osteopathic medicine, service, clinical experience, and your fit with ARCOM's mission.
  6. After submission, monitor for interview invitations and prepare to discuss holistic patient care.

Frequently Asked Questions About Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine Osteopathic Medicine

Is Casper required for ARCOM's DO program?

No. ARCOM encourages Casper but does not require it; Duet and Snapshot are not considered.

What MCAT score is competitive?

ARCOM sets no minimum and describes 500 or higher as competitive. AACOM reports a mean MCAT of 498.7 without specifying the reporting year.

What is the interview format?

An on-campus, 30-minute conversation with a faculty member and a community representative.

Does ARCOM require a DO letter?

A letter from a physician with whom you have worked in healthcare is required. A DO is preferred, but an MD is accepted.

What is ARCOM's COMLEX Level 1 first-time pass rate?

ARCOM reports 89.40% among 151 examinees.

Does ARCOM accept application fee assistance?

AACOMAS offers an application fee waiver. ARCOM charges no secondary application fee.

Where can I find Casper dates for ARCOM?

Check Acuity Insights' program-specific booking search for available sittings and distribution information.

How does ARCOM select applicants?

ARCOM reviews academic preparation, osteopathic-medicine commitment, service, professionalism, communication, integrity, and mission fit; offers are made on a rolling basis.

Sources

Last updated: September 26, 2026