Morehouse School of Medicine's Graduate Education in Nursing program offers two Doctor of Nursing Practice pathways: BSN-to-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner and post-master's DNP Executive Leadership. Both emphasize community engagement and health equity.
- Program
- Graduate Education in Nursing (GEN)
- Credential
- DNP
- Location
- Atlanta, Georgia, United States
- Casper
- Required
- Interview
- Interview
- Length
- BSN-to-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner: full-time, eight semesters; post-master's DNP Executive Leadership: full-time, 16 months.
Casper Requirement for Morehouse School of Medicine Nursing Graduate
Morehouse School of Medicine Nursing Graduate requires Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.
- Languages
- English
Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.
Complete Casper before an offer of admission. Scores are valid for one admissions cycle; applicants who previously took Casper must retake it for the current cycle.
Casper format
Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.
Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.
Morehouse School of Medicine Nursing Graduate Application Deadlines 2026-2027
- Apply through
- NursingCAS
- Application fee
- $50 program application fee
| What | When |
|---|---|
| Fall-entry priority deadline | March 31; applications continue on a rolling basis until the class is filled |
Apply through NursingCAS. Fall-entry applications open in August; Morehouse does not specify an opening day. After the March 31 priority deadline, applications continue on a rolling basis until the class is filled.
Eligibility Requirements for Morehouse School of Medicine Nursing Graduate
- Degree / credits
BSN-to-DNP: bachelor's degree in nursing from a nationally accredited nursing program and regionally accredited institution. Post-master's DNP: master's in nursing or another master's degree appropriate for advanced nursing practice from qualifying accredited institutions.
Admission pathways
- BSN-to-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner: For eligible BSN-prepared registered nurses
- Post-Master's DNP Executive Leadership: For eligible master's-prepared nurses
Other requirements
- RN license: Current, unrestricted license; BSN-to-DNP licensure must be in Georgia or a compact state.
- BSN-to-DNP BLS: Current American Heart Association Basic Life Support certification.
- Background check and student health: Criminal background check, physical examination within one year of enrollment, required immunizations, health insurance, and professional liability insurance.
- Post-master's certification: Maintain professional and clinical-practice certifications, as applicable.
Selection Factors Morehouse School of Medicine Considers
Prerequisites
| Course | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Statistics | Undergraduate coursework; grade C or higher No more than one attempt |
| Health assessment | Undergraduate coursework; grade C or higher No more than one attempt |
GPA
- How it is calculated
BSN-to-DNP: cumulative undergraduate nursing GPA on a 4.0 scale. Post-master's DNP: graduate nursing GPA.
- Minimum
- BSN-to-DNP: 2.9; post-master's DNP: 3.0
Admissions tests
- GRE (optional): Not required. To have scores considered, the test must have been taken within five years; send official scores from ETS to NursingCAS using institution code 2552.
Experience and volunteer hours
Required.
BSN-to-DNP applicants need at least one year of full-time-equivalent professional RN clinical experience at enrollment and must document two years before advanced-practice clinical courses in the second year.
Supplementary application
Submit official transcripts, a résumé or CV, and three references through NursingCAS. If enrolled in a nursing program within the past five years, include a reference from that program's director or faculty. All three references must arrive before review.
How applicants are ranked
The Admissions Committee reviews complete applications and invites competitive candidates to on-campus interviews. Casper must be completed before an offer of admission.
Interview Format at Morehouse School of Medicine
Format: Interview
Pre-admission interview; Morehouse invites competitive applicants to interview on campus.
- Who is invited
- Applicants with competitive, complete applications
- When
- April for fall entry; individual dates are not published.
Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.
Prepare for Casper and Your Interview
Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.
Start Practicing FreeCurriculum at Morehouse School of Medicine Nursing Graduate
- Program length
- BSN-to-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner: full-time, eight semesters; post-master's DNP Executive Leadership: full-time, 16 months.
- Structure
The FNP pathway requires 76 credits and 1,320 supervised clinical practice hours plus DNP project hours. The executive-leadership pathway requires 40 credits and a doctoral scholarly project.
Both pathways integrate evidence-based practice, health equity, population health, informatics, leadership, and community engagement. FNP study includes advanced assessment, pathophysiology, pharmacology, and primary care across the lifespan; executive leadership emphasizes systems improvement and applied scholarship.
Campus and facilities
Located in Atlanta, Georgia, the campus provides access to urban clinical sites and research centers. Facilities support hands-on training through affiliated hospitals and community health programs. The Student Handbook covers services including academic support and wellness resources.
Tuition and Funding at Morehouse School of Medicine
- FY2027 post-master's DNP tuition: $35,650 first year; $26,350 second year; $62,000 program total
- FY2027 BSN-to-DNP FNP tuition: $29,450 first year; $41,850 second year; $46,500 third year; $117,800 program total
Published FY2027 tuition excludes mandatory fees and living expenses.
Morehouse School of Medicine's Mission and Values
Morehouse School of Medicine emphasizes leadership and health equity, particularly for underserved communities. The Nursing Graduate program aligns with this by focusing on purposeful nursing leadership.
Our Graduate Education in Nursing (GEN) Program strengthens this impact by preparing nursing professionals to lead with purpose, address health disparities, and advance clinical practice.
What Applicants Are Saying
Matriculated students describe a culture that invests deeply in student development, fostering mentorship and community impact. You can expect a program that prioritizes ethical decision-making and professional growth from day one.
Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.
How to Prepare Your Morehouse School of Medicine Nursing Graduate Application
- Check the degree, nursing GPA, and RN-license rules for your DNP pathway.
- BSN-to-DNP applicants: document RN clinical experience and qualifying statistics and health-assessment coursework.
- Arrange transcripts, a résumé or CV, and three NursingCAS references.
- Complete Casper for the current admissions cycle.
- Prepare for a pre-admission interview on campus and review the published tuition and fees.
More About Morehouse School of Medicine Nursing Graduate
- Program focus
Prepares advanced practice nurses; GEN track
Frequently Asked Questions About Morehouse School of Medicine Nursing Graduate
Does Morehouse nursing require Casper?
Yes. Complete Casper for the current admissions cycle before an offer of admission.
What GPA is required?
At least 2.9 cumulative undergraduate nursing GPA for BSN-to-DNP, or 3.0 graduate nursing GPA for post-master's DNP.
What is the interview format?
Competitive applicants are invited to a pre-admission interview on campus; a panel or station format is not specified.
How much is tuition?
Published FY2027 tuition varies by pathway and year; consult the program's tuition schedule for tuition and additional fees.
When do applications open?
Fall-entry applications open in August. March 31 is the priority deadline, followed by rolling consideration until the class is filled.
What courses are required for BSN-to-DNP?
Undergraduate statistics and health assessment, each with a grade of C or higher and no more than one attempt.
Does the program accept international students?
The admissions page does not state a separate international-student policy; applicants must meet their pathway's licensure requirements.
What is the Casper format?
Casper is an online situational judgment test; book the test for the current admissions cycle through Acuity Insights.
Sources
- Morehouse GEN overview
- Morehouse GEN Admissions
- Morehouse GEN How to Apply
- Morehouse GEN Curriculum
- Morehouse GEN Tuition and Financial Aid
- Acuity Insights test dates and school information
Last updated: September 26, 2026