Randolph-Macon College's Physician Assistant Studies program in Ashland, Virginia offers a 24-month MSPAS through a rolling CASPA admissions process. Applicants need at least a 3.00 cumulative and science GPA, a GRE General Test score and a current-application-year Casper result. Clinical experience is strongly recommended, with no minimum hours required.
- Program
- Physician Assistant Studies
- Credential
- Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies (MSPAS)
- Location
- Ashland, Virginia, United States
- Casper
- Required
- Next deadline
- September 1, 2027 (Completed and verified CASPA application, including degree and prerequisites)
- Interview
- Interview
- Seats
- Maximum 40 students planned for the Class of 2029
- Length
- 24 months
Casper Requirement for Randolph-Macon College Physician Assistant
Randolph-Macon College Physician Assistant requires Casper for the 2027-2028 cycle.
- Languages
- English
- Applicant ID to enter
- CASPA ID
- Other Acuity assessments
- Duet (not required), Snapshot (not required)
Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.
Casper results must be from the application year and are submitted separately from CASPA.
Casper format
Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.
Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.
Randolph-Macon College Physician Assistant Application Deadlines 2027-2028
- Apply through
- CASPA
- Applications open
- April 2027; opening day not published
| What | When |
|---|---|
| Completed and verified CASPA application, including degree and prerequisites | September 1, 2027upcoming |
Complete, verified CASPA applications receive rolling review during the application window. Early submission is advantageous.
Randolph-Macon College Physician Assistant Admissions Statistics
Period: Classes of 2024-2026; PANCE results for Classes of 2024-2025
- Seats / class size: Maximum 40 students planned for the Class of 2029
- Average GPA: Average cumulative GPA: Class of 2024 3.45; 2025 3.61; 2026 3.65.
- Average science GPA, Class of 2024: 3.32
- Average science GPA, Class of 2025: 3.50
- Average science GPA, Class of 2026: 3.58
- Average patient-care hours, Classes of 2024 and 2025: Over 4,000 per class
- Average patient-care hours, Class of 2026: Over 3,000
- PANCE first-time pass rate, Classes of 2024 and 2025: 86% and 95%, respectively
The reported 95% first-time PANCE pass rate is for the Class of 2025; the Class of 2024 rate was 86%. These are class results, not a five-year average.
Eligibility Requirements for Randolph-Macon College Physician Assistant
- Degree / credits
Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university, completed by the application deadline.
- Citizenship
U.S. citizenship or permanent resident status required.
The degree and prerequisites must be completed by the application deadline. Coursework completed outside the U.S. or Canada requires a qualifying transcript evaluation.
Other requirements
- Military separation document: Applicants separated from military service must provide an official DD Form 214.
- Admission and retention standards: Admitted students must meet technical standards and complete required health screening, immunizations, background check, drug screen and proof of health insurance.
Selection Factors Randolph-Macon College Considers
Prerequisites
| Course | Requirement |
|---|---|
| General Biology | Two semesters, 7+ credits; one lab Other general or upper-level biology may count; botany does not. |
| General/Inorganic Chemistry | Two semesters with labs, 7+ credits |
| Biochemistry | One semester, 3+ credits |
| Organic Chemistry | One semester, 3+ credits |
| Human Anatomy and Physiology | Two semesters with labs, 7+ credits |
| General Psychology | One semester, 3+ credits |
| Statistics | One semester, 2+ credits |
| College Math or quantitative and symbolic reasoning | One semester, 3+ credits |
| Medical Terminology | 1+ credit or equivalent |
GPA
- How it is calculated
CASPA overall and overall science GPAs include every grade from every submitted transcript.
- Minimum
- 3.00 cumulative and 3.00 science GPA, on a 4.0 scale
- Competitive
- Admitted students average 3.45-3.61 cumulative and 3.32 science
Prerequisites require a C or higher; pass/fail prerequisite grades are not accepted.
Admissions tests
- GRE General Test (required): Scores must be from within five years of application and sent through CASPA using RMC code 3294.
- TOEFL (required for some applicants): Required if English is the applicant's second language or a required degree was earned outside the U.S. or Canada.
Experience and volunteer hours
Recommended.
No minimum clinical-experience hours are required. Meaningful hands-on experience is strongly recommended; preference is given to volunteer or paid experience involving significant patient contact.
Supplementary application
Submit official transcripts through CASPA and three letters of recommendation through CASPA. Colleagues, supervisors and professors may write letters; personal references, including family members, are not accepted.
How applicants are ranked
The PA Admissions Committee reviews complete, verified applications on a rolling basis against program goals, prerequisites and preferred factors. Selected applicants visit for an interview and additional non-cognitive assessments that inform final decisions. Qualified Randolph-Macon graduates are offered an interview.
Interview Format at Randolph-Macon College
Format: Interview
Invited applicants visit the PA Program for an interview and additional non-cognitive assessments; the interview question format is not specified.
- Who is invited
- Selected applicants with complete, verified applications; qualified Randolph-Macon graduates are offered an interview.
- When
- Not published.
Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.
Prepare for Casper and Your Interview
Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.
Start Practicing FreeCurriculum at Randolph-Macon College Physician Assistant
- Program length
- 24 months
- Structure
12 months of preclinical immersion followed by seven six-week clinical rotations; 124 credits leading to an MSPAS.
Rotation sites leverage Virginia affiliations.
Campus and facilities
Located in Ashland, Virginia, using RMC facilities with clinical partnerships across the region. Proximity to Richmond enhances rotation access.
Tuition and Funding at Randolph-Macon College
- Published 2027 estimated tuition and fees, eight terms: $108,896
- Published tuition per term: $12,736
- Comprehensive fee per term: $826
- First-term parking registration: $400
- Deposit upon admission, credited toward tuition: $750
The published estimate covers tuition and fees across eight terms, not housing, meals or other living and study expenses. Tuition and fees for a later entering cohort are not published on this page.
What Applicants Are Saying
Students describe a demanding schedule from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays, with some Saturday classes. Strict attendance policies permit only a few absences per semester. Matriculated students report sustaining grades while prioritizing self-care. The program culture stresses professionalism and accountability. Applicants are directed to forums such as Physician Assistant Forum or Student Doctor Network to connect with current students, while prioritizing official channels for accuracy.
Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.
How to Prepare Your Randolph-Macon College Physician Assistant Application
- Prepare a complete, verified CASPA application for rolling review.
- Finish the degree and prerequisites with qualifying grades before the application deadline.
- Arrange three non-personal references and transcripts through CASPA.
- Send an eligible GRE General Test score; check whether TOEFL applies to you.
- Seek meaningful patient-contact experience; no minimum hours are required.
- Complete Casper in the application year; Duet and Snapshot are not required.
More About Randolph-Macon College Physician Assistant
- Admissions contact
paadmissions@rmc.edu or (804) 752-8850
Frequently Asked Questions About Randolph-Macon College Physician Assistant
Does Randolph-Macon require Casper?
Yes. Submit a Casper result from the application year; Duet and Snapshot are not required.
What GPA is required?
At least a 3.00 cumulative GPA and 3.00 science GPA. CASPA includes all submitted transcript grades in its overall and science calculations.
How many patient-care hours are required?
There is no minimum. Meaningful hands-on clinical experience is stronglyly recommended, and significant patient-contact experience receives preference.
What is the interview format?
Selected applicants visit the PA Program for an interview and additional non-cognitive assessments; the question format is not specified.
What is the PANCE pass rate?
The first-time pass rate was 86% for the Class of 2024 and 95% for the Class of 2025.
Does the program use rolling admissions?
Yes. Complete, verified CASPA applications receive rolling review during the published application window.
Can international students apply?
Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents. Coursework completed outside the U.S. or Canada requires a qualifying transcript evaluation.
When can I take Casper?
Take Casper in your application year. Check the Acuity Insights portal for available test dates and score-distribution deadlines.
Sources
- RMC Graduate Admission
- RMC Physician Assistant Studies
- RMC Program Overview
- RMC PA Student Handbook
- RMC Tuition, Fees, Housing and Meals
- Acuity Insights Test Date & School Information
Last updated: September 26, 2026