Western University's two-year, full-time MClSc in Speech-Language Pathology combines in-person coursework and clinical practicums. Admission requires eligible academic preparation and Casper, with an interview alternative available to international applicants.
- Program
- Master of Clinical Science (MClSc) in Speech-Language Pathology
- Credential
- MClSc
- Location
- London, Ontario, Canada
- Casper
- Required · CSP-10211
- Next deadline
- January 7, 2027 (ORPAS application deadline)
- Seats
- 52
- Length
- Two years
Casper Requirement for University of Western Ontario Speech-Language Pathology
University of Western Ontario Speech-Language Pathology requires Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.
- Test to book
- Casper 2 · CSP-10211
- Languages
- English
- Applicant ID to enter
- ORPAS ID; before receiving it, use 2027000000 and update it when your ORPAS reference number arrives. Failure to update the number can make your application ineligible.
- Distribution fee
- $18 CAD
Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.
Casper is required for applicants except international applicants who request an interview instead. Contact earmouth@uwo.ca before taking Casper to request that alternative. Select Western Speech-Language Pathology for score distribution.
Casper format
Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.
Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.
University of Western Ontario Speech-Language Pathology Application Deadlines 2026-2027
- Apply through
- ORPAS; international applicants may alternatively use Western's SGPS portal
- Applications open
- Mid-October 2026; exact date not published
- Application fee
- Latest posted ORPAS fees: $190 CAD service fee plus $100 CAD Western fee for one program, or $200 CAD for two or more Western programs; 2027 fees have not yet been published.
| What | When |
|---|---|
| ORPAS application deadline | January 7, 2027upcoming |
| Initial transcripts deadline | January 30, 2027upcoming |
| Degree completion, prerequisite completion and final transcripts deadline | June 30, 2027upcoming |
| International direct-application deadline | February 7; year not specified by Western |
Submit a CV via the SAM section of ORPAS.
University of Western Ontario Speech-Language Pathology Admissions Statistics
Period: 2025 applicants; 2026 positions
- Seats / class size: 52
- Applicants: 506
Eligibility Requirements for University of Western Ontario Speech-Language Pathology
- Degree / credits
Four-year bachelor's degree from a recognized university
- Language proficiency
Proof may be required without a full-time, in-person English-medium undergraduate degree in a country where English is an official language.
Admission pathways
- Indigenous designated seats: Two School of Communication Sciences and Disorders seats are reserved for eligible Indigenous Canadian citizens with a four-year degree. Applicants must self-identify in ORPAS and complete Western's citizenship or membership affirmation; a 3.0 sub-GPA is strongly recommended.
International applicants may apply through ORPAS or directly through Western's School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.
Other requirements
- Transcripts: Submit transcripts from every postsecondary institution attended, including exchange and transfer study.
- Prerequisite approval: Obtain approval and submit the verification form for courses not on Western's preapproved list.
- Clinical placement clearance: Meet site immunization and medical requirements and provide a clear vulnerable-sector screening as required by placement sites.
Selection Factors University of Western Ontario Considers
Prerequisites
| Course | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Current route: Child development | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Current route: Statistics | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Current route: Human anatomy or human physiology | 1.0 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Current route: Phonetics | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Current route: General linguistics | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Alternative legacy route: Child development | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Alternative legacy route: Statistics | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Alternative legacy route: General linguistics | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Alternative legacy route: Human anatomy or human physiology | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Alternative legacy route: General science/life biomedical | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
| Alternative legacy route: Social science/psychology | 0.5 FCE Pass required; complete within the last 10 years. |
GPA
- How it is calculated
ORPAS calculates the sub-GPA from the final 20 half-courses, equivalent to 10 full courses or 60 credit hours, completed by December 31 before the application deadline. Eligible summer, part-time, distance, intersession and later university courses are included; Western excludes placement/activity, BEd, certificate/diploma and non-convertible grades.
- Minimum
- Minimum 3.40 sub-GPA; meeting it does not guarantee admission.
Prerequisite grades receive separate attention from the sub-GPA.
Admissions tests
- English-language proficiency (required for some applicants): TOEFL overall 5.5, no section below 4.5; IELTS Academic/Online 7.5; PTE Academic 72; or Duolingo English Test 135.
Experience and volunteer hours
Recommended.
Audiology- or SLP-specific volunteer hours are not required. Relevant training or experience and speech, language or hearing research may strengthen an application; Western specifies no volunteer-hour minimum.
Supplementary application
Submit a Statement of Intent through the application, an up-to-date CV through ORPAS SAM, two academic references and one personal or professional reference from a non-academic setting. Applicants away from university coursework for over five years may substitute professional references for academic ones.
How applicants are ranked
Western considers the sub-GPA, prerequisite-course performance, references, Statement of Intent, CV and Casper or the international interview alternative. It highlights academic strength, resilience, relevant experience and research; it publishes no MMI-based ranking formula.
Interview Format at University of Western Ontario
Western does not list a routine MMI in its admissions requirements. International applicants may request an interview instead of taking Casper; the interview format is not specified.
- Who is invited
- International applicants who request the interview alternative before taking Casper
Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.
Prepare for Casper and Your Interview
Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.
Start Practicing FreeCurriculum at University of Western Ontario Speech-Language Pathology
- Program length
- Two years
- Structure
Six terms, full-time, in-person, with no traditional reading weeks
- Campuses
- London
Coursework integrates foundational sciences, clinical skills, and supervised practicums from term one. Supervised clinical practicums build competency in assessment and intervention. Classes are delivered by faculty experienced in both research and practice. Prepares students for certification as speech-language pathologists and Ontario certification requirements.
Campus and facilities
Based in London, Ontario. Clinical training facilities and affiliations for off-site placements. Facilities include speech and hearing clinics. Commuting to placements is common; sites include community and hospital settings in the London area and regionally, requiring reliable transport.
Tuition and Funding at University of Western Ontario
Tuition is billed in three equal term instalments. A non-refundable $500 tuition deposit holds an accepted place; students pay their own clinical-placement travel and accommodation costs.
What Applicants Are Saying
Matriculated students describe a program culture that values practical preparation, with placements drawing from diverse sites that demand commuting readiness. Students report that MMI success hinges on clear communication, drawing from Casper strengths. Matriculated students highlight enhanced learning through professors' dual expertise. Current students describe a supportive environment with approachable professors and engaging classes, where volunteer and research involvement fosters competitiveness even for those with GPAs around 3.6. Students note varied placement locations requiring reliable transport and praise collaboration and practical readiness.
Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.
How to Prepare Your University of Western Ontario Speech-Language Pathology Application
- Check the 3.40 sub-GPA and complete either accepted prerequisite route.
- Prepare the Statement of Intent, CV and three references.
- Book Casper 2 with the correct applicant ID, or request the international interview alternative before taking Casper.
- Check Western's prerequisite approvals and ORPAS document deadlines.
More About University of Western Ontario Speech-Language Pathology
- Program intensity
Intensive in-person study with no traditional reading weeks
- Certification
Prepares graduates for certification as speech-language pathologists and Ontario certification requirements
Frequently Asked Questions About University of Western Ontario Speech-Language Pathology
Is Casper required for Western SLP?
Yes, except international applicants may request an interview instead before taking Casper. Book Casper 2, CSP-10211, with your ORPAS ID or Western's temporary placeholder, and update the placeholder when your ORPAS reference number arrives.
What is the minimum GPA?
Western requires a 3.40 sub-GPA based on the final 20 half-courses; meeting the minimum does not guarantee admission.
Does Western SLP use MMIs?
Western does not list a routine MMI; it offers international applicants an interview alternative to Casper.
How competitive is admission?
OUAC reports 506 applicants and 52 positions. Meeting the minimum requirements does not guarantee admission.
What is the program structure?
Two years and six full-time, in-person terms with coursework and clinical practicums; no traditional reading weeks.
Can international students apply?
Yes, through ORPAS or Western's direct SGPS portal.
Where are placements?
Clinical practicums are part of the program; students cover assigned placement travel and accommodation costs.
What prerequisites are needed?
Western accepts either its current five-course route or its legacy six-course route; courses must be passed and completed within the last 10 years.
Sources
- Western Speech Language Pathology
- Western Admission & Application
- Western International Applicants
- Western Prerequisite Legacy Document
- OUAC ORPAS Key Dates
- OUAC ORPAS Fees
- OUAC ORPAS Program Requirements Overview
- Acuity Insights Dates and Fees
Last updated: September 26, 2026