← All Articles UNF Nursing Anesthesiology DNP: Admissions Guide 2026-2027

UNF Nursing Anesthesiology DNP: Admissions Guide 2026-2027

UNF Anesthesiology Nursing DNP 2026-2027: NursingCAS and UNF deadlines, required GRE, critical-care experience, GPA, interview, nine-semester curriculum and tuition.

0 views
University of North FloridaNursing AnesthesiologyJacksonville, Florida, United States2026-2027 cycle

UNF's full-time, nine-semester Doctor of Nursing Practice in Anesthesiology Nursing prepares registered nurses for advanced anesthesia practice and eligibility to take the national CRNA certification examination. Applicants apply through NursingCAS and a subsequent UNF supplemental application; requirements include critical-care RN experience, GRE scores and an in-person interview.

Program
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) in Anesthesiology Nursing
Credential
DNP
Location
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Casper
Not required
Next deadline
March 1, 2027 (NursingCAS application and required materials (11:59 p.m.))
Interview
Interview
Length
Nine continuous full-time semesters (36 months; 111 credits)

Casper Requirement for University of North Florida Nursing Anesthesiology

University of North Florida Nursing Anesthesiology does not require Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.

Casper is not among current admission requirements; the catalog's Casper statement applies to an earlier intake.

University of North Florida Nursing Anesthesiology Application Deadlines 2026-2027

Apply through
NursingCAS, followed by the UNF supplemental graduate application
Applications open
August 6, 2026
Application fee
$30 UNF supplemental application fee, plus the NursingCAS application fee
WhatWhen
NursingCAS application and required materials (11:59 p.m.)March 1, 2027upcoming
International applicant NursingCAS immigration-document target, recommended for timely visa processingMarch 1, 2027upcoming
UNF supplemental application (11:59 p.m.)March 15, 2027upcoming
International applicant UNF supplemental immigration-document target, recommended for timely visa processingMarch 15, 2027upcoming

Apply through NursingCAS first. After the application is Complete or Verified and official GRE scores are submitted, wait for UNF's email instructions before filing the supplemental graduate application. Submit transcripts and other required materials to NursingCAS; late items are not considered.

University of North Florida Nursing Anesthesiology Admissions Statistics

Period: April 2026 interviews for Spring 2027 entry; December 2025 graduating class

  • Interviewed: Approximately 60 for April 2026 interviews
  • April 2026 interviewees: average GRE: 156 Verbal, 153 Quantitative, 4.0 Analytical Writing
  • April 2026 interviewees: critical-care experience: Average five years
  • December 2025 graduating class: graduation rate: 100%
  • December 2025 graduating class: attrition rate: 4%
  • December 2025 graduating class: employment within six months: 96%
  • 2025 graduating cohort: COA Method 1 pass rate: 92%

Eligibility Requirements for University of North Florida Nursing Anesthesiology

Degree / credits

Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) from an accredited program

Applicants must meet general University requirements for graduate studies plus program-specific criteria. Competitive applicants hold a BSN and demonstrate clinical readiness. Current RN licensure is required.

Other requirements

  • RN licensure: Provide a copy of a current RN license. Out-of-state applicants need Florida RN licensure or a compact-state RN license upon admission.
  • Admission technical standards: Candidates must meet observation, communication, motor, intellectual and behavioral/social standards, with reasonable accommodations considered individually.
  • Requirements by the first day of orientation: Current ACLS, BLS and PALS; specified TB, MMR, hepatitis B, varicella, tetanus/diphtheria and influenza documentation; fingerprint-based background check; and 12-panel drug screen.

Selection Factors University of North Florida Considers

Prerequisites

CourseRequirement
ChemistryAt least one course within the previous seven years
Introductory Chemistry with a lab is accepted. A course in progress at the application deadline may be considered; submit proof of enrollment through NursingCAS.

GPA

How it is calculated

Cumulative all-college undergraduate GPA; undergraduate science grades are considered separately. NursingCAS calculates GPA from verified transcripts without grade forgiveness, and UNF reviews the academic history holistically.

Minimum
3.0 cumulative undergraduate GPA; no separate minimum science GPA

UNF considers overall and science GPAs alongside GRE scores, critical-care experience, shadowing and certifications. Its FAQ reports a 3.50 cumulative GPA for the average admitted student, without specifying a cohort; this is not an admission cutoff.

Admissions tests

  • GRE (required): Scores from the past five years are required; listed thresholds are 153 Verbal, 150 Quantitative and 3.5 Analytical Writing. Send official scores to NursingCAS using code 6324. There is no GRE waiver; scores just below the thresholds may receive case-by-case consideration for an interview.

Experience and volunteer hours

Required.

At least two years of RN critical-care experience by matriculation, obtained in the United States, its territories, or a U.S. military hospital abroad. UNF evaluates the acuity and responsibilities of the setting; qualifying Level 1 trauma-center emergency-department experience may be considered.

Supplementary application

Submit official transcripts and GRE scores through NursingCAS, a one- to two-page resume or CV explaining clinical roles, a personal statement of no more than 500 words about your purpose and preparation, a copy of your RN license, and two recommendations with Likert-scale ratings. Submit the UNF supplemental application after receiving instructions.

How applicants are ranked

Faculty review verified NursingCAS files holistically, considering undergraduate and science GPAs, GRE scores, critical-care experience, shadowing and certifications. Applicants meeting minimum requirements may be invited to interview; no applicant is admitted without an interview. UNF does not publish a numerical interview or offer-ranking formula.

Interview Format at University of North Florida

Format: Interview

An in-person admission interview is required for admission. UNF has not specified an MMI or scenario-based format for this track.

Who is invited
Applicants meeting minimum admission requirements may be invited
When
Interview dates for Spring 2028 have not been announced.

Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.

Prepare for Your Admissions Interview

Access Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.

Start Practicing Free

Curriculum at University of North Florida Nursing Anesthesiology

Program length
Nine continuous full-time semesters (36 months; 111 credits)
Structure

Full-time cohort study: distance-learning courses in the first term, on-campus learning beginning in the second, and a hybrid format from the fourth semester, with simulation and clinical rotations.

Campuses
Jacksonville, Brooks College of Health

Coursework, simulation, clinical practica, residency and a doctoral project prepare graduates to take the National Certification Examination. Clinical sites include in-state and out-of-state locations; on-campus DNP students present their projects in person.

Campus and facilities

Based at UNF in Jacksonville, with simulation training and clinical sites in Florida and other states.

Tuition and Funding at University of North Florida

  • Florida resident, Fall 2026 to Summer 2027 tuition and fees per credit: $601.70
  • Non-Florida resident, Fall 2026 to Summer 2027 tuition and fees per credit: $1,261.56

These published per-credit rates cover the period shown, not the full program. Additional course and other applicable fees may apply.

What Applicants Are Saying

Matriculated students report that completing prerequisite graduate-level courses with strong grades prior to applying bolsters competitiveness. Students report that GPAs above 3.5, paired with graduate coursework, position candidates favorably against peers. Matriculated students describe 2+ years in critical care as a key differentiator. Students compare UNF favorably to FIU's program for the hands-on focus of independent CRNA site rotations.

Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.

How to Prepare Your University of North Florida Nursing Anesthesiology Application

  1. Build at least two years of qualifying critical-care RN experience by matriculation and document your responsibilities.
  2. Complete a recent Chemistry course and arrange official GRE scores for NursingCAS.
  3. Prepare a concise statement, two recommendations and a one- to two-page clinical resume.
  4. Prepare for an in-person admission interview; UNF has not specified an MMI format.
  5. Plan for nine continuous full-time semesters and clinical placements that may be outside Jacksonville.

More About University of North Florida Nursing Anesthesiology

Independent CRNA site rotations

Rotations at independent CRNA sites are uncommon among other Florida programs and distinguish UNF.

Frequently Asked Questions About University of North Florida Nursing Anesthesiology

Does UNF Nursing Anesthesiology require Casper?

Casper is not among current admission requirements; the catalog's Casper statement applies to an earlier intake.

What is the minimum GPA?

A 3.0 cumulative all-college undergraduate GPA is listed. Science grades are considered separately without a stated minimum.

What clinical experience is needed?

At least two years of qualifying RN critical-care experience by matriculation, from a U.S. critical-care setting, U.S. territory or U.S. military hospital abroad.

What is the interview format?

An in-person interview is required for admission. UNF has not specified an MMI format or announced interview dates for the current intake.

How long is the program?

Nine continuous full-time semesters, approximately 36 months, totaling 111 credits.

Is the GRE required?

Yes. Submit official scores from the past five years to NursingCAS using code 6324; UNF offers no GRE waiver.

Where does clinical training take place?

UNF lists clinical sites in Florida and other states, alongside simulation training. Placements may require travel beyond Jacksonville.

What is tuition?

Published tuition and fees are $601.70 per credit for Florida residents and $1,261.56 for nonresidents for the period shown in the tuition section; these are not full-program totals.

Sources

Last updated: September 26, 2026