VCC’s Sign Language Interpretation Diploma is a two-year, full-time program preparing students to interpret between ASL and English. Admission is competitive and requires advanced ASL preparation, ENGL 1100 or equivalent, a Casper score and a successful ASL panel interview. Students undertake Deaf-community learning, volunteer interpreting and supervised practicums.
- Program
- Sign Language Interpretation Diploma
- Credential
- Diploma
- Location
- Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
- Casper
- Required
- Interview
- Panel interview
- Seats
- limited
- Length
- Two years full-time; maximum completion time of five years
Casper Requirement for Vancouver Community College Sign Language Interpretation
Vancouver Community College Sign Language Interpretation requires Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.
- Languages
- English
Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.
A Casper score is required for admission and is valid for one admission cycle. Check Acuity Insights for test availability for this program and intake.
Casper format
Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.
Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.
Vancouver Community College Sign Language Interpretation Application Deadlines 2026-2027
- Apply through
- EducationPlannerBC for domestic applicants; VCC International online application for international applicants
- Application fee
- Domestic: $36; international: $145
Vancouver Community College Sign Language Interpretation Admissions Statistics
- Seats / class size: limited
Admission is competitive. VCC does not publish an applicant count, competitive GPA or Casper score for this program on its program page.
Eligibility Requirements for Vancouver Community College Sign Language Interpretation
- Language proficiency
ENGL 1100 with a minimum B grade, or equivalent; applicants are also assessed for proficiency in spoken and written English.
Applicants are assessed for ASL and English proficiency and understanding of Deaf community, Deaf culture, interpreting and social justice issues. Department permission is an alternative specified for the ASL and Deaf Studies Certificate; VCC’s international requirements also specify it for ASLD 1215 and INTR 1000.
Other requirements
- Criminal record check: Required after acceptance. A result indicating a risk to vulnerable populations prevents completion of program requirements such as practicums.
- Application to ASL & Deaf Studies (Individual Courses): Applicants for the entry intake must also apply for these courses through EducationPlannerBC to register in INTR 1000 and ASLD 1215.
Selection Factors Vancouver Community College Considers
Prerequisites
| Course | Requirement |
|---|---|
| ENGL 1100 or equivalent | Minimum B |
| ASL and Deaf Studies Certificate or equivalent | Completion or department permission |
| ASLD 1215 (ASL Level 7B) or equivalent | Required for September 2027 admission |
| INTR 1000 (Introduction to Sign Language Interpreting) or equivalent | Required for September 2027 admission |
GPA
VCC specifies a minimum B in ENGL 1100 or equivalent, but does not state an overall admission GPA minimum.
Experience and volunteer hours
Not required.
VCC does not list pre-admission volunteer interpreting hours. Volunteer interpreting, Deaf-community immersion and supervised placements are required during the program.
Supplementary application
Submit official transcripts and required educational documents. International applicants must also submit a one-page letter of intent. Applicants selected for interview complete the post-interview ASL and spoken-English video assignment.
How applicants are ranked
Admission is competitive. A selection committee reviews application documents and selects applicants for an online interview. Selection assesses ASL and English proficiency and understanding of Deaf community, Deaf culture, interpreting and social justice issues. Applicants are notified of their standing after interviews.
Interview Format at Vancouver Community College
Format: Panel interview
The ASL panel interview is held online via Zoom, lasts approximately one hour and includes faculty and community members. Selected applicants are contacted approximately one to two weeks before screening week. Afterward, applicants submit two 5-10-minute videos, one in ASL and one in spoken English, within four hours of the interview.
- Who is invited
- Applicants selected after the committee reviews their documents
- When
- Interview dates for this intake have not been published.
Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.
Prepare for Casper and Your Interview
Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.
Start Practicing FreeCurriculum at Vancouver Community College Sign Language Interpretation
- Program length
- Two years full-time; maximum completion time of five years
- Structure
A 60-credit, class-based diploma with advanced ASL, interpreting theory and practice, Deaf-community service learning, volunteer interpreting, a practicum term and a capstone portfolio.
- Campuses
- downtown Vancouver campus
Study advanced ASL, interpreting theory and practice, ethics, Deafhood and interpretation in educational settings. The program includes community involvement and supervised practicum placements, including at least one placement outside the Lower Mainland.
Campus and facilities
The program operates from VCC's downtown Vancouver campus in a multicultural hub ideal for ASL immersion. Facilities include dedicated language labs equipped for sign practice and video recording, supporting self-assessment of interpreting accuracy. Proximity to Vancouver's Deaf community offers real-world exposure through partnerships and events. Public transit access simplifies commuting.
Tuition and Funding at Vancouver Community College
- Domestic tuition, approximate: $7,870
- International tuition, approximate: $38,657
Additional college, student, insurance and transit fees may apply; published amounts are approximate.
Vancouver Community College's Mission and Values
Learn ASL interpretation. Intended for non-Deaf adults, VCC offers courses and programs to develop fluency for professional ASL interpreting.
Learn ASL interpretation. Intended for non-Deaf adults, VCC offers courses and programs to develop fluency for professional ASL interpreting.
What Applicants Are Saying
Students report that practicing with fluent signers enhances sign fluidity and accent adaptation—essential for real-world interpreting. Hearing students entering as ASL beginners describe the program as approachable for building professional skills. Matriculated students highlight the value of group practice sessions, where they refine signs and learn regional variations. The program culture is described as fostering inclusivity, with non-Deaf adults gaining confidence through structured feedback. Campus clubs and Deaf community events in Vancouver provide extracurricular opportunities to apply skills off-hours.
Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.
How to Prepare Your Vancouver Community College Sign Language Interpretation Application
- Confirm equivalency for ENGL 1100, the ASL and Deaf Studies Certificate, ASLD 1215 and INTR 1000; seek department permission where VCC specifies it.
- Apply through the appropriate domestic or international route and arrange official transcripts; international applicants should prepare a one-page letter of intent.
- Check Acuity Insights for this intake’s Casper availability and prepare for an ASL panel interview and post-interview ASL and spoken-English videos.
More About Vancouver Community College Sign Language Interpretation
- Program audience
Non-Deaf adults; trains hearing individuals to interpret between hearing people and Deaf or hard-of-hearing people.
- Collaboration
Students collaborate with peers and fluent Deaf mentors, practicing interpretations in immersive settings.
Frequently Asked Questions About Vancouver Community College Sign Language Interpretation
Does VCC Sign Language Interpretation require Casper?
Yes. VCC requires a Casper score valid for the admission cycle.
What are the prerequisites for VCC Sign Language Interpretation?
VCC specifies ENGL 1100 with at least B, an ASL and Deaf Studies Certificate or equivalent, and ASLD 1215 and INTR 1000 or equivalents for admission.
What is the Casper test date list for VCC?
Check Acuity Insights for available sittings for this program and intake; VCC has not published a list on its program page.
Can beginners apply to VCC Sign Language Interpretation?
This diploma requires advanced ASL preparation, including ASLD 1215 (ASL Level 7B) or equivalent for admission; ASL Level 1 alone is insufficient.
What does the VCC Sign Language Interpretation curriculum cover?
The two-year diploma covers advanced ASL, interpreting practice and ethics, Deaf-community learning and supervised practicums.
Is VCC Sign Language Interpretation competitive?
Yes. VCC uses a competitive selection process that includes review of application documents and an ASL panel interview.
Where is VCC's Sign Language Interpretation program located?
VCC is in Vancouver, British Columbia. Its program page does not specify a teaching campus for this diploma.
How should I prepare for Casper for VCC applications?
Check the applicable test dates on Acuity Insights and use its test-preparation resources. A Casper score is required for the admission cycle.
Sources
- VCC - Sign Language Interpretation Diploma
- VCC - International Sign Language Interpretation
- VCC - When to Apply
- VCC - Interview & Video Submission Guidelines
- Acuity Insights - Test Dates and Fees
Last updated: September 26, 2026