The University of Saskatchewan offers a 27-month, in-person Master of Speech-Language Pathology with 40 annual seats, including 8 Indigenous-designated seats. Admission requires specified prerequisite courses, Casper and a short personal statement; eligibility is restricted by citizenship and residency requirements. Academic coursework and six clinical placements prepare students for entry-to-practice requirements.
- Program
- Master of Speech-Language Pathology (MSLP)
- Credential
- MSLP
- Location
- Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
- Casper
- Required · CSP-10211
- Next deadline
- December 15, 2026 (Application deadline)
- Seats
- 40 students: 32 general-pool and 8 Indigenous-designated seats
- Length
- 27 months
Casper Requirement for University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology
University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology requires Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.
- Test to book
- Canada Casper 2 (English) · CSP-10211
- Languages
- English
Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.
Casper is required each admissions cycle. Register after applying; a result taken for another university may also be distributed to this program if it is the same test type.
Casper format
Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.
Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.
University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology Application Deadlines 2026-2027
- Apply through
- University of Saskatchewan online graduate application
- Applications open
- Mid-September 2026
- Application fee
- $125 CAD, non-refundable
| What | When |
|---|---|
| Application deadline | December 15, 2026upcoming |
| Personal-statement deadline | January 18, 2027upcoming |
| Equivalent-course approval deadline | January 31, 2027upcoming |
| Supporting-documents deadline | May 15, 2027upcoming |
Apply through the university’s online portal. Upload unofficial transcripts after applying; reference letters are not accepted. The personal-statement prompt is sent to applicants separately.
University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology Admissions Statistics
Period: Annual intake
- Seats / class size: 40 students: 32 general-pool and 8 Indigenous-designated seats
The School of Rehabilitation Science states that 40 students are admitted each year.
Eligibility Requirements for University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology
- Degree / credits
Four-year undergraduate degree (120 credits) or equivalent, in any field.
- Residency
General-pool applicants must qualify as residents of Saskatchewan, Yukon, the Northwest Territories or Nunavut through residence, family home, graduation from a Saskatchewan degree-granting institution, or a qualifying Armed Forces/RCMP family transfer. The admissions committee may waive the Saskatchewan residency requirement.
- Citizenship
Canadian citizens and permanent residents only; applicants for Indigenous-designated seats must be Canadian citizens.
- Language proficiency
Applicants whose first language is not English may need to provide English-proficiency results meeting the program’s higher-than-standard graduate thresholds.
Admission pathways
- Indigenous-designated seats: 8 of 40 seats are designated for Indigenous applicants. Applicants must indicate this choice, meet standard entry requirements, be Canadian citizens and complete Indigenous membership/citizenship verification; they are considered in the general pool first.
Equivalent prerequisite courses require School of Rehabilitation Science approval; AP and IB high-school credits cannot be used as prerequisites.
Other requirements
- CPR certification: Maintain current certification throughout the program after admission.
- Clinical-placement clearance: Complete mandatory immunizations, respirator fit testing, a police/criminal-record and vulnerable-sector check, and placement agreements as required.
- Indigenous membership/citizenship verification: A condition of acceptance for an Indigenous-designated seat.
Selection Factors University of Saskatchewan Considers
Prerequisites
| Course | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Human Anatomy or Neuroanatomy | required 3 credit units |
| Indigenous Studies | required 3 credit units |
| Introductory Linguistics | required 3 credit units |
| Introductory Phonetics | required 3 credit units |
| Psychology | required 3 credit units |
| Statistics | required 3 credit units |
GPA
- How it is calculated
Weighted average of the most recent 60 graded credit units at application.
- Minimum
- 70% admission average; 70% in each prerequisite and 75% overall across prerequisites.
AP and IB high-school credits cannot satisfy prerequisites.
Admissions tests
- TOEFL (required for some applicants): At least 4.5/6 in each component and 5.0/6 combined.
- IELTS (required for some applicants): At least 8/9 listening and 7.5/9 speaking, reading and writing.
Experience and volunteer hours
Not required.
No volunteer or work-hour requirement is listed among the program’s admission requirements.
Supplementary application
Submit a personal statement of no more than 300 words answering the admissions committee’s prompt, with an academic-integrity statement. Reference letters are neither required nor accepted. Upload unofficial transcripts from each post-secondary institution attended unless your undergraduate degree is from USask; official transcripts are required after an offer.
How applicants are ranked
Offers go to the top 40 eligible applicants: 32 general-pool and 8 Indigenous-designated seats. Ranking weights are admission average 60%, Casper 32% and personal statement 8%. Indigenous applicants are considered in the general pool first.
Interview Format at University of Saskatchewan
Interview details are not specified; check the website for updates as the program launches.
Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.
Prepare for Casper and Your Interview
Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.
Start Practicing FreeCurriculum at University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology
- Program length
- 27 months
- Structure
Full-time, in-person, course-based program combining classes, labs and six clinical placements.
- Campuses
- Saskatoon
The 27-month program includes 30 weeks of placements, more than 1,000 placement hours and at least 350 supervised direct-client-contact hours. It emphasizes rural, remote and Indigenous communities and cultural humility.
Campus and facilities
Situated in Saskatoon, the University of Saskatchewan offers access to provincial clinical sites essential for SLP training. As a newer program, facilities support competency-based learning in speech and language sciences. Campus life includes communities for pre-SLP students, fostering connections amid competitive admissions.
Tuition and Funding at University of Saskatchewan
- Canadian-student tuition: $3,709 CAD per term, published 2026-27 rate
Tuition is assessed each enrolled term. Student fees, clinical-placement travel and accommodation are additional.
University of Saskatchewan's Mission and Values
The program prepares speech-language pathologists to serve people across the lifespan, with particular attention to Saskatchewan’s rural, remote and Indigenous communities and to culturally humble practice.
What Applicants Are Saying
Students report that SLPs and related roles like occupational therapists are in high demand across Saskatchewan, positioning graduates for immediate impact. Matriculated students describe a culture that values practical preparation amid national competitiveness. Students highlight the program's role in filling regional gaps, with coursework tailored to real-world demands in Saskatchewan healthcare.
Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.
How to Prepare Your University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology Application
- Complete all six prerequisite subjects and check each course grade and the prerequisite average.
- Check citizenship and residency eligibility before applying.
- Calculate the admission average from the most recent 60 graded credit units.
- Prepare a response to the program’s personal-statement prompt.
- Book the correct Casper test for this admissions cycle and confirm program-specific dates with Acuity Insights.
- Upload all required unofficial transcripts and any required English-proficiency results.
More About University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology
- Annual intake
40 seats, including 8 designated for Indigenous applicants
Frequently Asked Questions About University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology
Is Casper required for University of Saskatchewan SLP?
Yes, the English Casper test is required.
What is the minimum GPA for University of Saskatchewan Speech Language Pathology?
The minimum is 70% across the most recent 60 graded credit units. Each prerequisite needs at least 70%, with a 75% average across prerequisites.
How many students does University of Saskatchewan SLP admit?
The program admits 40 students annually, including 8 Indigenous-designated seats.
What are the prerequisites for University of Saskatchewan SLP?
Six 3-credit-unit subjects: human anatomy or neuroanatomy, Indigenous studies, introductory linguistics, introductory phonetics, psychology and statistics. Each needs at least 70%; the combined prerequisite average must be 75%.
Does University of Saskatchewan SLP require interviews?
Interview details are not specified; check the website for updates as the program launches.
Is volunteer experience needed for University of Saskatchewan SLP?
No volunteer or work hours are listed as admission requirements.
When does the University of Saskatchewan SLP program start?
The program starts in the fall and runs for 27 months.
Are references required for University of Saskatchewan SLP application?
No. Reference letters are not required and are not accepted. Applicants must instead submit the required personal statement and other application materials.
Sources
- USask Speech Language Pathology admissions
- USask School of Rehabilitation Science MSLP
- USask MSLP University Catalogue
- Acuity Insights Casper test types
Last updated: September 26, 2026