← All Articles Mary Baldwin Nurse Anesthesiology DNP: Admissions 2026-2027

Mary Baldwin Nurse Anesthesiology DNP: Admissions 2026-2027

Mary Baldwin DNP Nurse Anesthesiology admissions 2026-2027: NursingCAS deadline, required Casper test, prerequisites, ICU experience, tuition, and hybrid curriculum.

0 views
Mary Baldwin UniversityNurse AnesthesiologyFishersville, Virginia, United States2026-2027 cycle

Mary Baldwin University's hybrid, 104-credit, 36-month DNP Nurse Anesthesiology program prepares experienced critical care RNs for eligibility to take the nurse anesthetist National Certification Examination. Applicants apply through NursingCAS and must complete Casper to be considered for an interview.

Program
Doctor of Nursing Practice - Nurse Anesthesiology
Credential
DNP
Location
Fishersville, Virginia, United States
Casper
Required · CSP-10101
Next deadline
December 5, 2026 (Last day to take Casper)
Length
36 months full-time; 104 credits.

Casper Requirement for Mary Baldwin University Nurse Anesthesiology

Mary Baldwin University Nurse Anesthesiology requires Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.

Test to book
US Professional Health Sciences · CSP-10101
Languages
English
Other Acuity assessments
Duet (not required)

Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.

Complete Casper to be considered for an interview.

Casper format

Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.

Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.

Mary Baldwin University Nurse Anesthesiology Application Deadlines 2026-2027

Apply through
NursingCAS
Applications open
September 1, 2026
Application fee
$90 for the first graduate NursingCAS application; $60 for each additional program in the 2026-2027 NursingCAS cycle.
WhatWhen
Last day to take CasperDecember 5, 2026upcoming
Application deadlineDecember 15, 2026upcoming

Mary Baldwin University Nurse Anesthesiology Admissions Statistics

Period: Class of 2025

  • First-time NCE pass rate: 82.6%
  • Overall NCE pass rate: 100%
  • Employment within six months: 100%
  • Attrition: 4%

Eligibility Requirements for Mary Baldwin University Nurse Anesthesiology

Degree / credits

BSN from a CCNE- or ACEN-accredited nursing school.

Residency

Hold a current unrestricted RN and/or APRN license in Virginia or an NC-SARA-participating state, or be eligible for Virginia licensure.

Citizenship

International applicants must ensure credentials align with U.S. nursing standards through evaluation services such as CGFNS.

Language proficiency

Applicants whose primary language is not English must submit TOEFL scores regardless of U.S. citizenship, unless exempt through a bachelor's or graduate degree from an accredited four-year U.S. university.

Prospective applicants should confirm RN licensure status early; the program requires verification prior to matriculation.

Other requirements

  • Current AHA certifications: BLS, ACLS, and PALS.
  • Critical care checklist: Submit with your clinical supervisor's signature.
  • Critical care certification: CCRN is strongly recommended, not required.
  • Post-admission clinical clearance: After admission, complete a criminal background check and drug test; submit health records and maintain health insurance. Clinical sites may require updated checks and drug screens.

Selection Factors Mary Baldwin University Considers

Prerequisites

CourseRequirement
Anatomy and physiology with lab8 credits
Chemistry (general, organic, or biochemistry)3 credits
Microbiology3-4 credits
Pharmacology3-4 credits
StatisticsUndergraduate or graduate course

GPA

How it is calculated

The stated minimum applies to the baccalaureate nursing degree and subsequent graduate work.

Minimum
Minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA on a 4.0 scale for the baccalaureate nursing degree and subsequent graduate work.

Admissions tests

  • TOEFL (required for some applicants): For applicants whose primary language is not English: minimum 570 paper-based or 88 internet-based; school code 5397. The stated U.S.-degree exemption may apply.

Experience and volunteer hours

Required.

At least one year of current, continuous full-time critical care RN experience, or the part-time equivalent, within two years of application; two years is preferred. Experience must be in the United States, its territories, or a U.S. military hospital abroad.

Supplementary application

Submit a curriculum vitae, a personal statement of no more than 500 words on short- and long-term goals after the DNP, official transcripts from every post-secondary institution, and three professional recommendations. One recommendation must be from your immediate supervisor.

How applicants are ranked

Applications receive holistic review. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee admission; the most qualified applicants are invited to interview, and Casper must be completed for interview consideration. Mary Baldwin does not publish a numerical ranking formula.

Interview Format at Mary Baldwin University

Qualified applicants may be invited after completing Casper; Mary Baldwin does not specify an interview format.

Who is invited
Qualified applicants selected for interview
When
February

Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.

Prepare for Casper and Your Interview

Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.

Start Practicing Free

Curriculum at Mary Baldwin University Nurse Anesthesiology

Program length
36 months full-time; 104 credits.
Structure

Hybrid BSN-to-DNP program combining on- and off-campus learning over 36 months. Coursework includes advanced physiology, anesthesia principles and pharmacology, simulation, clinical practicum, and a DNP scholarly project.

Campuses
Murphy Deming College of Health Sciences, Fishersville

Graduation requirements include at least 2,000 clinical hours and 650 anesthetics.

Campus and facilities

The School of Nursing is based at Murphy Deming College of Health Sciences in Fishersville, Virginia, near Mary Baldwin's Staunton campus. Nurse Anesthesiology uses a hybrid on- and off-campus format.

Tuition and Funding at Mary Baldwin University

  • 2026-2027 tuition: $16,334 per semester
  • 2026-2027 program fee: $500 per year

Published amounts cover fall 2026 through summer 2027 and may change in later academic years. Accepted students pay a nonrefundable $2,000 deposit applied to tuition upon matriculation.

Mary Baldwin University's Mission and Values

Designed for experienced critical care RNs with a bachelor's degree, our comprehensive program will equip you with the knowledge and skills needed to excel in ...

What Applicants Are Saying

Students report structured weeks that alternate between campus sessions and online learning, supporting work-life balance for those in North Carolina or Alabama. Matriculated students describe the setup as accommodating for commuters, with weeks off-campus dedicated to virtual lectures. Forums such as allnurses show applicants valuing low attrition discussions and peer insights on ICU prerequisites. One North Carolina student noted that synchronous sessions align with regional time zones, allowing per diem shifts. Current students emphasize simulation for research and skill-building and cohort-based learning during intensives. Students from Alabama and North Carolina report success applying as out-of-state RNs.

Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.

How to Prepare Your Mary Baldwin University Nurse Anesthesiology Application

  1. Check the NursingCAS application and arrange official transcripts from every post-secondary institution.
  2. Confirm required science and statistics coursework and recent critical care experience.
  3. Maintain RN licensure and current AHA BLS, ACLS, and PALS certifications.
  4. Request three professional recommendations, including one from your immediate supervisor.
  5. Prepare your curriculum vitae, personal statement, and supervisor-signed critical care checklist.
  6. Book the specified Casper test in time for interview consideration; use Acuity Insights' practice resources.
  7. Prepare for a possible interview.

More About Mary Baldwin University Nurse Anesthesiology

Credential goal

Prepares graduates for eligibility to take the National Certification Examination for nurse anesthetists.

Hybrid format

Combines on- and off-campus learning.

Institutional accreditation

Mary Baldwin remains accredited by SACSCOC and has been on Probation for Good Cause since June 26, 2026; the Nurse Anesthesiology program retains COA accreditation.

Frequently Asked Questions About Mary Baldwin University Nurse Anesthesiology

Does Mary Baldwin Nurse Anesthesiology require Casper?

Yes. Complete the US Professional Health Sciences Casper test (CSP-10101) to be considered for an interview; Duet is not required.

What is the minimum GPA?

A 3.0 cumulative GPA is required for the baccalaureate nursing degree and subsequent graduate work.

Is the program hybrid?

Yes. It combines on- and off-campus learning over 36 months.

What coursework is required?

Transcripts must show 8 credits of anatomy and physiology with lab, 3 of chemistry, 3-4 of microbiology, 3-4 of pharmacology, and an undergraduate or graduate statistics course.

Can out-of-state nurses apply?

Applicants may hold an unrestricted RN or APRN license in an NC-SARA-participating state or be eligible for Virginia licensure.

How long is the program?

The full-time DNP takes 36 months and comprises 104 credits; graduation requires at least 2,000 clinical hours.

What clinical experience is required?

At least one year of recent, continuous full-time critical care RN experience or the part-time equivalent; two years is preferred.

Are there interviews?

Qualified applicants may be invited to interview in February after completing Casper. Mary Baldwin does not specify the format.

Sources

Last updated: September 26, 2026