← All Articles University of Utah PA Program: Admissions Guide 2027-2028

University of Utah PA Program: Admissions Guide 2027-2028

University of Utah PA admissions guide: CASPA, prerequisites, GPA, healthcare experience and interviews for the 2027-2028 cycle. Casper is not required.

0 views
University of UtahPhysician AssistantSalt Lake City, Utah, United States2027-2028 cycle

The University of Utah Physician Assistant Program is a full-time, 27-month MPAS program with campuses in Salt Lake City and St. George. Applicants use CASPA and need at least 2,000 hours of qualifying healthcare experience. The program does not require Casper. Its mission-based training emphasizes primary care and improving access to care.

Program
Physician Assistant Program
Credential
MPAS
Location
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Casper
Not required
Seats
68 matriculants
Length
27 months

Casper Requirement for University of Utah Physician Assistant

University of Utah Physician Assistant does not require Casper for the 2027-2028 cycle.

University of Utah Physician Assistant Application Deadlines 2027-2028

Apply through
CASPA

Submit materials through CASPA; the program has no supplemental application and does not use rolling admissions. Supporting documents must reach CASPA for verification. Apply to the University of Utah Graduate School only after a formal PA admission offer.

University of Utah Physician Assistant Admissions Statistics

Period: 2025-2027 class

  • Seats / class size: 68 matriculants
  • Applicants: 1,897
  • Admitted: 68 matriculants
  • Average GPA: Matriculants: 3.69 cumulative; 3.65 science
  • Matriculants' average healthcare experience: 6,577 hours, 2025-2027 class
  • Matriculants' median healthcare experience: 5,700 hours, 2025-2027 class

Eligibility Requirements for University of Utah Physician Assistant

Degree / credits

A four-year BA, BS or BAS in any major from a regionally accredited US or Canadian institution is required before matriculation. A foreign degree may qualify after equivalency evaluation and 30 semester credits of US coursework, including at least 20 prerequisite credits.

Citizenship

International students may apply if they meet standard requirements; applicants with foreign degrees need 30 semester credits of US coursework and a degree-equivalency evaluation. Applicants abroad must travel for an in-person interview if invited and arrange their own visa paperwork.

Language proficiency

Non-native English speakers must meet the TOEFL requirement unless the school's stated exception applies.

Other requirements

  • Technical standards: Admitted students must meet the program's physical, cognitive and emotional technical standards.
  • Graduate School application: Apply to the University of Utah Graduate School only after a formal admission offer; admission to the Graduate School is also required.
  • Background checks and drug testing: An acceptable background check is a condition of admission; another check and drug testing occur before the clinical year.
  • Immunizations and equipment: Admitted students must provide required immunization and TB records and own a laptop for testing.

Selection Factors University of Utah Considers

Prerequisites

CourseRequirement
Human anatomy4 semester credits with lab; a qualifying 3-credit course with lab may be accepted
Must be human anatomy.
Human physiology4 semester credits
Alternatively, complete the full Anatomy and Physiology I-II series totaling 8 semester credits with labs; mixed routes are not accepted.
Biology4 semester credits
Microbiology is recommended, not required.
Chemistry8 semester credits
Introductory through biochemistry coursework is accepted.

GPA

How it is calculated

CASPA calculates cumulative and science GPAs using all coursework, including repeated courses; the earlier grade is not removed. Science GPA receives particular emphasis.

Minimum
CASPA cumulative and science GPAs must each be at least 3.0. An exception is available for applicants with a science GPA of at least 3.50 across their most recent 30 semester credits of science coursework.
Competitive
A science GPA above 3.5 is one factor the program identifies among preferred applicant backgrounds.

Both GPA thresholds apply unless the stated science-coursework exception is met.

Admissions tests

  • GRE (not required): The program does not require the GRE or another standardized entrance exam and does not consider submitted scores.
  • TOEFL (required for some applicants): Required for non-native English speakers unless they completed high school in the US and hold a US bachelor's degree. Minimum: 550 written, 230 computer-based or 80 internet-based.

Experience and volunteer hours

Required.

At least 2,000 hours of healthcare experience are required by the application deadline. Direct hands-on patient care is preferred, not mandatory; paid experience is weighted more heavily than volunteer experience. Shadowing, student practicum, healthcare administrative work and care for family members do not count toward the minimum. Qualifying hours may be verified.

Supplementary application

There is no supplemental application. CASPA includes a personal statement of up to 5,000 characters, responses to program questions and three letters of reference. Clinicians who supervised the applicant's healthcare work are preferred referees; references are reviewed but not scored.

How applicants are ranked

Verified applications meeting minimum requirements are scored on academics, healthcare experience, the CASPA personal statement and question responses, and background factors. References are reviewed but do not contribute to the application score. Top-scoring applicants recommended by an evaluator are invited to interview; offers and alternate rankings are based on interview scores.

Interview Format at University of Utah

Interviews take place in person at the Salt Lake City and St. George campuses and include a test of basic anatomy, physiology and general medical terminology. The school does not specify a panel or student-panel format.

Who is invited
Highest-scoring applicants recommended for interview by an application evaluator.

Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.

Prepare for Your Admissions Interview

Access Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.

Start Practicing Free

Curriculum at University of Utah Physician Assistant

Program length
27 months
Structure

Full-time, in-person study over seven continuous semesters; part-time or interrupted attendance and advance placement are not offered.

Campuses
Salt Lake City campus, St. George campus

The mission-based curriculum uses a primary-care model to prepare PAs to evaluate, diagnose and manage acute and chronic conditions across patient ages.

Campus and facilities

The program teaches students in person at its Salt Lake City and St. George campuses. Core clinical-year placements are arranged by the program in Utah; students need not supply their own preceptors.

Tuition and Funding at University of Utah

  • Estimated resident tuition and fees, seven semesters: $97,208, based on 2026-2027 rates
  • Estimated nonresident tuition and fees, seven semesters: $139,660, based on 2026-2027 rates

These published estimates include a $1,000 programmatic fee per semester. Rates may change; all students pay resident tuition in summer.

University of Utah's Mission and Values

The University of Utah Physician Assistant Program emphasizes a mission-based curriculum designed to prepare clinicians for diverse patient populations, prioritizing competency in primary care and longitudinal patient management and aligning with the University of Utah School of Medicine's commitment to accessible healthcare in the Intermountain West.

The emphasis of our mission-based curriculum is educating physician assistants to evaluate, diagnose, and manage acute and chronic conditions in patients of all ages.

What Applicants Are Saying

Matriculated students describe a structured progression with competency-based assessments ensuring readiness for certification exams. Students report strong support networks despite rigorous pacing. SDN interview experience data from past cycles shows positive applicant impressions overall.

Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.

How to Prepare Your University of Utah Physician Assistant Application

  1. Complete the required anatomy, physiology, biology and chemistry coursework before submitting CASPA.
  2. Document at least 2,000 qualifying healthcare hours; direct patient care is preferred, while shadowing does not count toward the minimum.
  3. Arrange three clinical references and prepare the CASPA personal statement and question responses.
  4. Allow time for CASPA verification after the next cycle's deadlines are published.
  5. Prepare to discuss healthcare experience and review basic anatomy, physiology and medical terminology for an in-person interview.

More About University of Utah Physician Assistant

Accreditation

Continuing accreditation

Admissions contact

Doris Dalton, Director of Admissions

Frequently Asked Questions About University of Utah Physician Assistant

Does the University of Utah PA Program require Casper?

No. The program no longer requires Casper; applicants do not need to book a test.

What is the minimum healthcare experience for University of Utah PA admissions?

At least 2,000 hours of qualifying healthcare experience are required. Direct patient care is preferred, but shadowing does not count toward the minimum.

Is the GRE required for University of Utah Physician Assistant Program?

No. The program does not require the GRE or another standardized entrance exam and does not consider submitted scores.

What is the interview format at University of Utah PA Program?

Invited applicants interview in person at a program campus and take a test of basic anatomy, physiology and general medical terminology. The school does not specify a panel format.

How long is the University of Utah Physician Assistant Program?

The full-time MPAS program lasts 27 months over seven continuous semesters, with in-person study.

Does University of Utah PA Program accept international students?

Yes. International applicants must meet the standard requirements; foreign-degree holders need a degree-equivalency evaluation and 30 semester credits of US coursework. An in-person interview and TOEFL may also be required.

What are common mistakes in University of Utah PA applications?

Do not count shadowing toward required healthcare hours or leave prerequisite grades unfinished when submitting CASPA. Allow time for CASPA verification.

When is the CASPA deadline for University of Utah PA?

The program has not published its next application-year deadlines. Check the program's Important Dates page before applying.

Sources

Last updated: September 26, 2026