Franklin Pierce University’s Texas MPAS Hybrid Program is a full-time, 24-month physician assistant program based in Round Rock. It combines online didactic coursework, required campus immersions and supervised clinical training. Applicants apply through CASPA; selection includes a virtual interview. The program is on Accreditation-Probation.
- Program
- Master of Physician Assistant Studies (MPAS)
- Credential
- MPAS
- Location
- Round Rock, Texas, United States
- Casper
- Not required
- Next deadline
- October 1, 2026 (CASPA application and verification deadline)
- Interview
- Interview
- Seats
- 48 seats available each year
- Length
- 24 months (eight terms)
Casper Requirement for Franklin Pierce University Texas MPAS Hybrid
Franklin Pierce University Texas MPAS Hybrid does not require Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.
Franklin Pierce University Texas MPAS Hybrid Application Deadlines 2026-2027
- Apply through
- CASPA
- Applications open
- April 30, 2026
- Application fee
- No Franklin Pierce MPAS Hybrid application fee; CASPA fees apply.
| What | When |
|---|---|
| CASPA application and verification deadline | October 1, 2026upcoming |
Apply through CASPA and send transcripts there. Submit early enough for CASPA verification by the program deadline; verified applications receive first-come, first-served review.
Franklin Pierce University Texas MPAS Hybrid Admissions Statistics
Period: Class of 2027 for white-coat count
- Seats / class size: 48 seats available each year
- Second cohort at white coat ceremony: 44 Class of 2027 students
Eligibility Requirements for Franklin Pierce University Texas MPAS Hybrid
- Degree / credits
Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution, completed and confirmed before matriculation; no particular major is required.
- Residency
Applicants from throughout the United States are welcome, and DACA applicants are eligible.
- Citizenship
The Texas campus is not approved to accept international students. U.S. citizens with foreign transcripts may apply; foreign transcripts require evaluation sent to CASPA.
Prerequisites need a C or better; up to two may be outstanding when applying, but accepted applicants must finish them with a B or better before matriculation. Recent coursework is strongly recommended. AP, CLEP, audit and professional-school credits do not satisfy prerequisites.
Other requirements
- Technical standards: Candidates must possess and demonstrate the program’s observation, communication, motor, intellectual and behavioral standards throughout training.
Selection Factors Franklin Pierce University Considers
Prerequisites
| Course | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Anatomy & Physiology I with lab | 4 semester credits Required |
| Anatomy & Physiology II with lab | 4 semester credits Required |
| General Chemistry I with lab | 4 semester credits Required |
| General Chemistry II with lab | 4 semester credits Required |
| Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry | 3 semester credits Required |
| Microbiology with lab | 4 semester credits Required |
| Statistics | 3 semester credits Required |
| Biological Science with lab | 4 semester credits Required |
| Medical Terminology | 1 semester credit Required |
| Psychology | 3 semester credits Recommended |
| Genetics | 3 semester credits Recommended |
| Immunology | 3 semester credits Recommended |
| Nutrition | 3 semester credits Recommended |
| Cell Biology | 3 semester credits Recommended |
GPA
- How it is calculated
Eligibility uses CASPA-calculated cumulative and overall science GPAs; the program does not recalculate recent coursework.
- Minimum
- Cumulative GPA 3.0 and overall science GPA 3.2, on a 4.0 scale.
The minimums are firm.
Admissions tests
- GRE (not required): The GRE is not required.
- TOEFL iBT (required for some applicants): Required with the application if born outside the U.S. and not a U.S. high-school graduate, without exception. Minimum 5 in each category; for tests before January 21, 2026, minimum 100 overall and 25 in each category. Send scores to CASPA using ETS code D360.
Experience and volunteer hours
Not required.
Healthcare experience and PA shadowing are not required. The program highly recommends PA shadowing; clinical experience is considered when selecting interviewees.
Supplementary application
Submit three letters of recommendation through CASPA. At least one should be from a physician (MD/DO) or physician assistant (PA); the program does not specify who must write the other letters. There is no supplemental application.
How applicants are ranked
CASPA-verified applications are reviewed in order received. GPA, personal statement, recommendation letters and clinical experiences inform interview selection. In modified rolling admissions, applicants meeting or exceeding expectations may receive offers as interviews proceed; later applicants and the waitlist are ranked.
Interview Format at Franklin Pierce University
Format: Interview
Interviews are virtual; the program does not specify a panel or MMI format.
- Who is invited
- Selected applicants, ranked for interview using GPA, personal statement, recommendation letters and clinical experiences, are contacted by the admissions coordinator.
- When
- The program expects interviews from mid-summer through the end of its October application cycle.
Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.
Prepare for Your Admissions Interview
Access Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.
Start Practicing FreeCurriculum at Franklin Pierce University Texas MPAS Hybrid
- Program length
- 24 months (eight terms)
- Structure
Twelve months of online didactic study and twelve months of supervised clinical training, with four required, typically week-long immersions at the Round Rock campus. Clinical assignments may be anywhere in the United States, though most affiliated sites are in Texas.
- Campuses
- Round Rock, Texas
First-year students engage in virtual lectures on anatomy, pharmacology, and pathophysiology, then transition to supervised clinical practice in the second year. A foundational course introduces the history of the physician assistant profession, covering practice standards, public health, and policy implications. Clinical rotations emphasize patient-centered care and prepare graduates for PANCE certification.
Campus and facilities
The Round Rock campus hosts four required immersions during the program. Students arrange their own immersion travel and lodging; the program assigns clinical sites, most of which are in Texas but some of which are elsewhere in the United States.
Tuition and Funding at Franklin Pierce University
- 2026-2027 annual tuition, four terms: $58,428
- 2026-2027 annual comprehensive fee: $2,020
- 2026-2027 annual direct billed costs: $60,448
Published amounts are annual, not the full 24-month program price. Estimated indirect costs vary by residency and travel needs.
Franklin Pierce University's Mission and Values
The program trains compassionate, patient-centered providers and stresses compassion and adaptability.
What Applicants Are Saying
Matriculated students describe the hybrid format as demanding self-motivation during didactic phases, with flexibility aiding working professionals. Students report confidence in passing the PANCE due to the program's rigorous structure.
Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.
How to Prepare Your Franklin Pierce University Texas MPAS Hybrid Application
- Review the required courses and CASPA-calculated GPA minimums.
- Consider PA shadowing; healthcare experience is not required.
- Arrange three recommendations, including at least one from an MD, DO or PA.
- Submit transcripts and your CASPA application early enough for verification by the deadline.
- Prepare to discuss your motivation, clinical experiences and readiness for online study and required immersions in a virtual interview.
More About Franklin Pierce University Texas MPAS Hybrid
- Accreditation
ARC-PA placed the Round Rock MPAS Hybrid Program on Accreditation-Probation at its April 2026 meeting; its next review is in April 2028.
Frequently Asked Questions About Franklin Pierce University Texas MPAS Hybrid
Is Casper required?
Casper is not listed among the current Texas MPAS admissions requirements.
What recommendations are required?
Three letters are required; at least one should come from an MD, DO or PA.
Are patient care hours required?
No. Healthcare experience is not required, although PA shadowing is highly recommended.
What is the application deadline?
CASPA verification is due October 1.
How hybrid is the curriculum?
The 24-month program includes an online didactic year, a clinical year and four required Round Rock immersions.
Are interviews required?
Selected applicants interview virtually.
What is tuition?
Annual tuition is $58,428, plus a $2,020 comprehensive fee.
Can international students apply?
The Texas campus is not approved to accept international students.
Sources
- Franklin Pierce Texas MPAS program
- Franklin Pierce Texas MPAS FAQ
- CASPA Application Cycle Dates
- Franklin Pierce Cost of Attendance
- Franklin Pierce Texas MPAS Technical Standards
- Texas Hybrid MPAS White Coat Ceremony
- Franklin Pierce Texas MPAS Apply
- Acuity Insights Test Dates and Fees
Last updated: September 26, 2026