← All Articles Alvernia University PA Program: Admissions Guide 2026-2027

Alvernia University PA Program: Admissions Guide 2026-2027

Alvernia University PA admissions 2026-2027: CASPA deadline, GPA and course prerequisites, patient-care hours, Casper after acceptance, Bio-PA pathway and tuition.

0 views
Alvernia UniversityPhysician AssistantReading, Pennsylvania, United States2026-2027 cycle

Alvernia University offers a 24-month Master of Medical Science in Physician Associate Studies in Reading, Pennsylvania. Post-baccalaureate applicants apply through CASPA; accepted students complete Casper before matriculation. Applicants need qualifying coursework, minimum GPAs and direct patient-care experience. Alvernia also offers a five-year Bio-PA accelerated pathway for its biology undergraduates.

Program
Master of Medical Science in Physician Associate Studies
Credential
MMS
Location
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Casper
Required
Next deadline
April 1, 2027 (CASPA application deadline)
Interview
Interview
Seats
30 maximum entering students per class, as approved by ARC-PA
Length
24 months, six semesters and 100 credits for the post-baccalaureate MMS; the Bio-PA bachelor's-plus-master's route takes five years.

Casper Requirement for Alvernia University Physician Assistant

Alvernia University Physician Assistant requires Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.

Languages
English

Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.

Accepted students must complete Casper before matriculation; Casper is not required before applying.

Casper format

Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.

Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.

Alvernia University Physician Assistant Application Deadlines 2026-2027

Apply through
CASPA
Applications open
April 30, 2026
Application fee
CASPA: $185 for the first program and $65 for each additional program; CASPA fee waivers may be available.
WhatWhen
CASPA application deadlineApril 1, 2027upcoming
Application must be CASPA-verified by the deadline.

Apply through CASPA. Admissions are rolling; Casper is a requirement for accepted students before matriculation, not a CASPA submission deadline.

Alvernia University Physician Assistant Admissions Statistics

Period: Classes of 2026 and 2027

  • Seats / class size: 30 maximum entering students per class, as approved by ARC-PA
  • Class of 2026 entering students: 27
  • Class of 2027 entering students: 30

Eligibility Requirements for Alvernia University Physician Assistant

Degree / credits

A bachelor's degree from an institution accredited by a U.S.-recognized higher-education accreditor is required for the post-baccalaureate pathway.

Residency

Applicants nationwide are considered; preference is given to Berks, Chester, Lebanon, Lehigh, Montgomery and Schuylkill county applicants.

Citizenship

The PA program is currently not accepting international students.

Language proficiency

Published conditional minimums are TOEFL 100, IELTS 7.5 or Duolingo 130, although the PA program currently does not accept international students.

Admission pathways

  • Traditional post-baccalaureate: CASPA pathway for applicants with a qualifying bachelor's degree.
  • Bio-PA 3+2: Alvernia biology undergraduates may complete a biology BS and the MMS in five years if they meet the accelerated pathway's progression criteria.

Applicants nationwide are considered. Alvernia gives special consideration to its alumni, applicants from Berks and surrounding specified Pennsylvania counties, and applicants with military experience.

Other requirements

  • Seat deposit: Accepted students pay a $1,000 nonrefundable deposit.
  • Pre-matriculation screening: Background check, fingerprinting and a negative substance-abuse test are required.
  • Health requirements: Required immunizations and proof of active health insurance are required before matriculation.
  • Matriculation documents: Provide verified official transcripts and required forms through the clinical tracking platform.
  • Standards and policies: Attest to the program's technical standards and student handbook policies.

Selection Factors Alvernia University Considers

Prerequisites

CourseRequirement
Anatomy or A&P IAt least 3 semester hours; lab required
Physiology or A&P IIAt least 3 semester hours; lab required
General ChemistryAt least 6 semester hours across two courses; lab required
General BiologyAt least 6 semester hours across two courses; lab required
StatisticsAt least 3 semester hours
MicrobiologyAt least 3 semester hours; lab required
PsychologyAt least 3 semester hours
Organic Chemistry or BiochemistryAt least 3 semester hours
Lab recommended, not required

GPA

How it is calculated

CASPA calculates application GPAs; Alvernia requires separate overall cumulative, science and prerequisite minimums.

Minimum
At least 3.0 overall cumulative GPA and 3.0 science and prerequisite GPA for the post-baccalaureate pathway.

Prerequisites require at least a C, must be completed within 10 years of CASPA submission, and cannot use Pass/Fail or AP credit. Up to two may remain outstanding when applying but must be completed and verified before matriculation. Bio-PA assured admission requires at least 3.4 overall, science and prerequisite GPAs.

Admissions tests

  • GRE (not required): Not required for admission.
  • PA-CAT (not required): Not required for admission.
  • English proficiency examination (required for some applicants): For applicable coursework outside English-speaking countries, published minimums are TOEFL 100, IELTS 7.5 or Duolingo 130; the program currently does not accept international students.

Experience and volunteer hours

Required.

At least 200 hands-on direct patient-care hours are required, including at least 8 hours of direct interaction with a PA. Paid or volunteer care counts; hours earned as part of education or training do not. Additional hours strengthen an application. Community service is recommended, not required, and its number of hours is not considered.

Supplementary application

Complete Alvernia-specific short-answer questions in CASPA; no separate supplemental application is required. Submit three recommendations, including one from a healthcare professional and one from a professor or instructor, subject to the published substitution for applicants at least five years post-graduation.

How applicants are ranked

Admissions are rolling and applications receive holistic review for academic preparation, admissions criteria, resilience and alignment with the university's mission and Franciscan values. Alvernia lists alumni, specified local applicants and military experience for special consideration; qualified applicants may be invited to a virtual interview.

Interview Format at Alvernia University

Format: Interview

Qualified applicants are contacted to schedule a virtual interview after supporting materials arrive and the Admissions Committee completes a preliminary review; the interview structure is not specified.

Who is invited
Qualified applicants after preliminary review.

Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.

Prepare for Casper and Your Interview

Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.

Start Practicing Free

Curriculum at Alvernia University Physician Assistant

Program length
24 months, six semesters and 100 credits for the post-baccalaureate MMS; the Bio-PA bachelor's-plus-master's route takes five years.
Structure

Three didactic semesters followed by three clinical semesters; didactic teaching combines in-person, live Zoom and asynchronous instruction.

Campuses
Reading

Systems-based modules integrate anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology, clinical medicine, pharmacology, physical diagnosis and clinical skills. Clinical rotations are four weeks each; sites may be nationwide, and some require distant travel and housing.

Campus and facilities

The program is offered in Reading, with simulation, Anatomage, OSCE, patient-simulation, clinical-skills and small-group facilities.

Tuition and Funding at Alvernia University

  • Class of 2027 program tuition: $92,700
  • Class of 2027 university fee: $17,010
  • Class of 2027 experiential learning fee: $8,000
  • Class of 2027 graduation fee: $145
  • Class of 2027 published total program cost: $117,855

These published amounts are for the Class of 2027, not a quoted price for a later entering class; tuition and fees may increase annually.

What Applicants Are Saying

Matriculated students describe a rigorous, practical education emphasizing clinical preparation in Pennsylvania. Students report a focused campus environment fostering practical skills. Students report that exceeding 500 hours correlates with interview invitations on forums like Student Doctor Network. Forums note the program as relatively new, with some applicants describing interview logistics as evolving.

Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.

How to Prepare Your Alvernia University Physician Assistant Application

  1. Check the published GPA and prerequisite-course rules before applying.
  2. Document at least 200 eligible direct patient-care hours, including eight hours of PA interaction.
  3. Prepare Alvernia's CASPA short answers and three required recommendations.
  4. If invited, prepare for a virtual interview; accepted students must complete Casper before matriculation.

More About Alvernia University Physician Assistant

Attrition benchmark

At or below the national average annually

Frequently Asked Questions About Alvernia University Physician Assistant

Does Alvernia require Casper?

Yes. Accepted students must complete Casper before matriculation; it is not required before applying.

What healthcare experience is required?

At least 200 direct patient-care hours, including eight hours of direct PA interaction.

Is there a GPA minimum?

The post-baccalaureate minimum is 3.0 overall and 3.0 science and prerequisite GPA.

What is the Alvernia PA interview format?

The post-baccalaureate admissions page says qualified applicants may be invited to a virtual interview; it does not specify its structure.

Does Alvernia offer an accelerated PA track?

Yes. Bio-PA combines a biology BS and MMS over five years, subject to pathway criteria.

When is the CASPA deadline?

The cycle-specific CASPA directory lists April 1, 2027, with verification required by the deadline.

Is Alvernia's PA program competitive?

Admissions are rolling and holistic; applicants must meet published academic and experience requirements. Alvernia publishes entering-class sizes, not a current applicant-to-seat ratio.

Can international students apply?

The program's post-baccalaureate admissions page says it is currently not accepting international students.

Sources

Last updated: September 26, 2026