The University of Toledo Physician Assistant Program is a 27-month, full-time program leading to an MSBS with a Physician Assistant Studies concentration. Applicants apply through CASPA and pay a separate UToledo fee. Casper and PA-CAT are recommended but not required; applicants receive full consideration without either test. Admission includes holistic review and virtual interviews.
- Program
- Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences, Physician Assistant Studies concentration
- Credential
- MSBS
- Location
- Toledo, Ohio, United States
- Casper
- Optional (recommended)
- Next deadline
- September 1, 2027 (Complete CASPA application and UToledo application fee)
- Seats
- 40 planned
- Length
- 27 months
Casper Requirement for University of Toledo Physician Assistant
University of Toledo Physician Assistant recommends Casper for the 2027-2028 cycle but does not require it: applications are considered with or without a score.
- Languages
- English
Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.
Casper is recommended, not required. Applicants receive full consideration without it. Test dates and a score-distribution deadline for the upcoming entry term have not been published.
Casper format
Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.
Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.
University of Toledo Physician Assistant Application Deadlines 2027-2028
- Apply through
- CASPA
- Applications open
- April 28, 2027
- Application fee
- $45 UToledo application fee, in addition to CASPA fees.
| What | When |
|---|---|
| Complete CASPA application and UToledo application fee | September 1, 2027upcoming |
| Bachelor’s degree and prerequisite coursework completed | June 15, 2028upcoming |
CASPA materials must be received for the application to be complete.
University of Toledo Physician Assistant Admissions Statistics
Period: 2026 entering class; 2025 graduating class for PANCE
- Seats / class size: 40 planned
- Applicants: 873
- Average GPA: 3.85 mean undergraduate GPA, 2026 entering class
- 2026 entering class enrolled: 39
- 2026 mean science GPA: 3.81
- 2026 mean prerequisite GPA: 3.87
- 2025 graduates: PANCE first-time pass rate: 95%
- 2025 graduates: PANCE all-attempt exam pass rate: 95%
- 2025 graduates who ultimately passed PANCE: 100%
The entering class enrolled 39 students. Applicant and enrollment counts do not establish an offer or acceptance rate.
Eligibility Requirements for University of Toledo Physician Assistant
- Degree / credits
Bachelor’s degree completed by June 15 of the matriculation year.
- Citizenship
Applicants with a degree earned outside the United States may apply if an approved evaluation finds it equivalent to a U.S. bachelor’s degree; all prerequisites must be taken at regionally accredited U.S. institutions.
- Language proficiency
Applicants whose native language is not English and whose undergraduate degree is from a non-English-speaking institution must demonstrate English proficiency. Qualifying test minimums include TOEFL iBT 80 on the 0-120 scale, TOEFL iBT26 4.0 overall and in every subscore, or IELTS Academic 6.5; UToledo also lists other tests and educational-background routes.
Up to three prerequisites may be pending at application. Prerequisites must be completed within eight years of matriculation.
Other requirements
- Before matriculation: Submit clean BCI and FBI background checks, a current Basic Life Support card, a physical exam and required tuberculosis and immunization records. Annual influenza vaccination is required; COVID-19 vaccination is recommended, not required.
- Technical standards: Review the program’s technical standards before applying.
Selection Factors University of Toledo Considers
Prerequisites
| Course | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Anatomy | 3 semester credits; B- or higher |
| Physiology | 3 semester credits; B- or higher Six credits of combined anatomy and physiology may satisfy both requirements. |
| General/inorganic chemistry | 3 semester credits; C or higher |
| General/inorganic chemistry lab | 1 semester credit; C or higher |
| Organic chemistry or biochemistry | 3 semester credits; C or higher |
| Organic chemistry or biochemistry lab | 1 semester credit; C or higher |
| Microbiology | 3 semester credits; C or higher |
| Microbiology lab | 1 semester credit; C or higher |
| Psychology | 6 semester credits; C or higher AP credit accepted if transcripted. |
| College-level math or statistics | 3 semester credits; C or higher AP credit accepted if transcripted. |
| Medical terminology | 1 semester credit Certificate or Pass/Credit coursework accepted. |
GPA
- How it is calculated
CASPA-calculated GPAs include all completed courses; grades from repeated courses remain in the calculation.
- Minimum
- 3.20 overall GPA and 3.20 prerequisite GPA, both calculated by CASPA.
- Competitive
- The entering class had mean undergraduate, science and prerequisite GPAs of 3.85, 3.81 and 3.87, respectively; these are class statistics, not admission cutoffs.
Repeating a course does not replace its earlier grade in CASPA’s calculations.
Admissions tests
- PA-CAT (optional): Recommended, not required. Applicants receive full consideration without it; results from the previous two application cycles are accepted.
- English-language proficiency (required for some applicants): Applicants whose native language is not English and whose undergraduate degree is from a non-English-speaking institution must demonstrate proficiency; UToledo lists qualifying tests and educational-background routes.
Experience and volunteer hours
Not required.
Healthcare experience and a minimum number of healthcare hours are not required. The program recognizes the benefits of healthcare experience.
Supplementary application
Submit a complete CASPA application with a personal statement, verified transcripts from every college or university attended, and at least three professional, supervisory, healthcare-provider or faculty recommendations. Submit the UToledo application fee.
How applicants are ranked
The program uses holistic review of academic achievement, personal attributes, service, leadership, healthcare exposure and potential contribution to the PA profession. Qualified applicants may be invited to interview; offers may be made during the application cycle. Applicants receive full consideration without Casper or PA-CAT.
Interview Format at University of Toledo
Interviews are conducted virtually; the admissions page does not specify an MMI or its stations.
- Who is invited
- Selected applicants who meet the admission requirements.
- When
- June/July through December during the application cycle.
Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.
Prepare for Casper and Your Interview
Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.
Start Practicing FreeCurriculum at University of Toledo Physician Assistant
- Program length
- 27 months
- Structure
Seven semesters, primarily in-person with occasional online or hybrid sessions. Didactic phases build foundational knowledge, then clinical rotations at affiliated sites.
- Campuses
- Health Science Campus, Collier Building
The full-time program includes didactic study, clinical rotations, a scholarly project, an Objective Structured Clinical Examination and a comprehensive examination. Clinical experiences include behavioral, emergency, family and internal medicine; pediatrics; surgery; women’s health; and an elective.
Campus and facilities
Located in Toledo, Ohio, the College of Medicine and Life Sciences provides facilities and resources. The program leverages clinical affiliations for hands-on training. Campus life emphasizes collaborative learning.
Tuition and Funding at University of Toledo
- Estimated program tuition and fees, in-state: $104,522
- Estimated program tuition and fees, out-of-state: $159,535
UToledo’s program estimates are subject to annual change. A $1,000 nonrefundable enrollment deposit applies toward first-semester tuition for students who matriculate; other living and preparation costs are additional.
What Applicants Are Saying
Matriculated students describe strong facilities and resources. Students report an established curriculum with access to comprehensive resources. Students highlight robust support despite mixed perceptions of larger programs' rigor. SDN Interview Experience Scores reflect positive applicant impressions overall.
Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.
How to Prepare Your University of Toledo Physician Assistant Application
- Check every prerequisite, including laboratory credits, course recency and minimum grades.
- Plan to meet both CASPA-calculated 3.20 GPA minimums.
- Arrange three recommendations, your personal statement and transcripts early enough for a complete CASPA application.
- Consider the recommended, nonrequired Casper and PA-CAT assessments.
- Prepare to discuss your experiences and motivation in a virtual interview.
Frequently Asked Questions About University of Toledo Physician Assistant
Does UToledo PA require Casper?
No. Casper is recommended, and applicants receive full consideration without it.
What GPA is required?
A CASPA-calculated 3.20 overall GPA and 3.20 prerequisite GPA.
What is the interview format?
Interviews are virtual; the admissions page does not specify MMI stations.
How competitive is admission?
The latest published entering class had 873 applicants and 39 enrolled students; UToledo does not give an acceptance rate there.
Does UToledo PA accept AP credit?
Yes, for transcripted psychology and college-level math or statistics credit, but not science prerequisites.
How long is the program?
27 months, across seven consecutive full-time semesters, leading to an MSBS.
Can international students apply?
Yes. An overseas degree may qualify after an approved equivalency evaluation, but prerequisites must be from regionally accredited U.S. institutions.
What are UToledo PA PANCE pass rates?
For the latest reported graduates, the first-time pass rate was 95%, and 100% ultimately passed.
Sources
- UToledo Prospective Students
- UToledo How to Apply
- UToledo Prerequisites
- UToledo 2026 Entering Class Profile
- UToledo Costs and Financial Aid
- UToledo Graduate English-Language Proficiency
- UToledo Curriculum
- NCCPA PANCE Report hosted by UToledo
Last updated: September 26, 2026