You enter the Queen's University Physical Therapy program, housed in the School of Rehabilitation Therapy at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada, to train as a practice-ready physiotherapist. The program emphasizes a competency-based approach introduced in 2023, aligning with essential competencies for physiotherapists. This focus builds skills through progressive training, distinguishing it from traditional models. The 24-month Master of Science in Physical Therapy (MScPT) prepares graduates for licensure across Canada.
- Program
- Master of Science in Physical Therapy (MScPT)
- Credential
- MScPT
- Location
- Kingston, Ontario, Canada
- Casper
- Required · CSP-10201
- Seats
- 68 positions for 2026
- Length
- 24 months
Casper Requirement for Queen's University Physical Therapy
Queen's University Physical Therapy requires Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.
- Test to book
- Professional Health Sciences · CSP-10201
- Languages
- English
- Applicant ID to enter
- OUAC/ORPAS ID
Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.
Queen's published Casper instructions identify the Professional Health Sciences test and Queen's Physical Therapy as the score recipient. Casper dates and score-distribution deadlines for fall entry have not been published.
Casper format
Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.
Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.
Queen's University Physical Therapy Application Deadlines 2026-2027
- Apply through
- ORPAS
Apply through ORPAS. Complete the Queen's Physical Therapy Personal Information Form and Prerequisites Form in Personal Submissions, and arrange two Confidential Assessment Forms: one academic and one clinical or professional, preferably from a physiotherapist.
Queen's University Physical Therapy Admissions Statistics
Period: 2025 applicants; 2026 positions
- Seats / class size: 68 positions for 2026
- Applicants: 928 applicants in 2025
Eligibility Requirements for Queen's University Physical Therapy
- Degree / credits
Four-year baccalaureate degree from a recognized university with a minimum second-class standing of 70% or higher.
- Citizenship
Applicants must be Canadian citizens or Canadian permanent residents at the time of application.
- Language proficiency
Very good to excellent English proficiency is required. Queen's published requirements call for TOEFL iBT 94 or IELTS 7 for applicants meeting its English-speaking-country residence condition; check the current guide for the applicable reference date.
Admission pathways
- Indigenous Admissions Pathway: Identify through ORPAS and provide documentation of connection to a recognized Indigenous community, or the specified statement and community verification letter. Queen's designates three PT places annually through this process.
A degree from outside Canada may require assessment of equivalency; citizenship or permanent residency is still required.
Other requirements
- Immunization documentation: Required on entry, including specified vaccination history, tuberculosis screening and varicella status; annual influenza immunization is required before placements.
- First aid, BLS and CPR: Provide valid standard first aid, Basic Life Support and health-care-provider-level CPR certification on entry; keep certifications current.
- Criminal record check: Obtain a new Vulnerable Sector Check on entry and renew it annually.
Selection Factors Queen's University Considers
Prerequisites
| Course | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Human Anatomy | required At least a half-year university course; minimum B- or 70%. |
| Human Physiology | required At least a half-year university course; minimum B- or 70%. |
| Statistics and/or Research Methods/Design | required At least a half-year university course; minimum B- or 70%. |
| Human Psychology | required At least a half-year university course; minimum B- or 70%. |
GPA
- How it is calculated
ORPAS converts eligible undergraduate university courses to its 4.0 GPA scale; Queen's considers academic and non-academic criteria.
- Minimum
- 70% (second-class standing)
Queen's does not publish a competitive MScPT GPA or a GPA-and-Casper first-stage cutoff in its published selection process.
Admissions tests
- TOEFL iBT (required for some applicants): Minimum overall score 94 under Queen's published English-proficiency condition.
- IELTS (required for some applicants): Minimum score 7 under Queen's published English-proficiency condition.
Experience and volunteer hours
Recommended.
Describe experiences working or interacting with a physiotherapist in the required Personal Information Form, including your role and total hours. Queen's does not specify a minimum number of observation or volunteer hours.
Supplementary application
Complete the Queen's Physical Therapy Personal Information Form in ORPAS. Describe physiotherapist interactions and hours, involvement or leadership that promotes well-being, and a challenging experience and what you learned. Complete the Prerequisites Form with course codes, names and links to course descriptions.
How applicants are ranked
Queen's considers academic and non-academic criteria, including the required Personal Information Form and two Confidential Assessment Forms. Applicants are ranked for an offer, a waiting-list place or an unsuccessful decision; the published MScPT process does not specify an interview-ranking stage.
Interview Format at Queen's University
Queen's published MScPT selection process does not specify an interview format.
Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.
Prepare for Casper and Your Interview
Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.
Start Practicing FreeCurriculum at Queen's University Physical Therapy
- Program length
- 24 months
- Structure
Competency-based approach introduced in 2023, aligning with essential competencies for physiotherapists. Progressive training through integrated coursework, simulations, and clinical placements.
- Campuses
- Kingston
The continuous 24-month MScPT combines academic instruction with at least 1,025 clinical-placement hours. Placements are assigned, mostly within Queen's catchment area; students cover their travel and accommodation costs.
Campus and facilities
Housed in the School of Rehabilitation Therapy at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. Modern facilities including simulation labs for PT training. Clinical affiliations span Ontario sites, supporting rotations. Campus life integrates with Queen's student community, where pre-PT groups discuss ORPAS strategies.
Tuition and Funding at Queen's University
Tuition for fall entry has not been published here.
Queen's University's Mission and Values
Inspire learners to excel as competent and compassionate physiotherapists through transformative education, research, student experiences and collaborative partnerships.
What Applicants Are Saying
Matriculated students describe the culture as supportive for those committed to Ontario's competitive PT admissions landscape, where many take extra years post-undergrad to strengthen applications. Graduates report that competitive GPAs often require two extra years post-undergrad for strengthening. Students praise the longitudinal curriculum approach for building real-world proficiency, as shared in applicant forums for a recent cohort. Students report the interview weighs heavily after GPA and Casper thresholds. Many accepted students took two extra undergrad years.
Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.
How to Prepare Your Queen's University Physical Therapy Application
- Check the published ORPAS and Casper dates before booking or submitting.
- Complete human anatomy, human physiology, statistics or research methods, and human psychology prerequisites.
- Record physiotherapist interactions, roles and hours for the Personal Information Form; Queen's specifies no minimum hours.
- Arrange one academic and one clinical or professional assessment form.
- Use Acuity Insights' sample test to become familiar with Casper.
More About Queen's University Physical Therapy
- School unit
School of Rehabilitation Therapy
Frequently Asked Questions About Queen's University Physical Therapy
Is Casper required for Queen's University Physical Therapy admissions?
Queen's last published ORPAS guide requires Casper for its stated cycle; confirm the test requirement when the current guide is issued.
What is the minimum GPA?
The minimum degree standing is 70%; each prerequisite needs at least B- or 70%.
Does Queen's PT require an interview?
The published MScPT selection process does not specify an interview.
What are the prerequisites?
Human anatomy, human physiology, statistics or research methods, and human psychology.
How long is the Queen's PT program?
The MScPT runs continuously for 24 months.
Can international students apply?
Applicants must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents when applying.
What is the application deadline?
ORPAS has not yet published its deadline for fall entry.
Are observation hours required?
Describe physiotherapist interactions and hours in the Personal Information Form; no minimum hours are specified.
Sources
- Queen's MScPT Admission Requirements
- ORPAS, Queen's University
- ORPAS, Program Requirements Overview
- ORPAS, Key Dates
- ORPAS, GPA Calculations
- Acuity Insights, Dates and Fees
- Queen's Competency-Based Physiotherapy Education
Last updated: September 26, 2026