← All Articles KansasCOM DO Admissions Guide 2026-2027

KansasCOM DO Admissions Guide 2026-2027

KansasCOM DO admissions guide for 2026-2027: AACOMAS and secondary deadlines, MCAT and GPA screening, prerequisites, virtual interviews and tuition. Casper is not required.

0 views
Kansas Health Science UniversityOsteopathic MedicineWichita, Kansas, United States2026-2027 cycle

Kansas Health Science University-Kansas College of Osteopathic Medicine offers a DO program in Wichita through AACOMAS. Applicants complete a screened secondary application, and selected applicants interview virtually. Casper is not required; a score of 500 on the MCAT qualifies standard applicants for an automatic secondary invitation but is not an admission minimum.

Program
Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO)
Credential
DO
Location
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Casper
Not required
Next deadline
January 15, 2027 (In-state early decision application)
Interview
Interview
Length
Four years

Casper Requirement for Kansas Health Science University Osteopathic Medicine

Kansas Health Science University Osteopathic Medicine does not require Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.

Casper is not an admissions requirement.

Kansas Health Science University Osteopathic Medicine Application Deadlines 2026-2027

Apply through
AACOMAS
Applications open
May 4, 2026
Application fee
$198 AACOMAS fee for one designated college, plus $60 per additional designation; $50 nonrefundable KansasCOM secondary fee. Eligible AACOMAS fee-waiver recipients receive a secondary fee waiver.
WhatWhen
In-state early decision applicationJanuary 15, 2027upcoming
Early decision supplemental materialsFebruary 15, 2027upcoming
AACOMAS primary applicationApril 30, 2027upcoming
KansasCOM secondary applicationMay 15, 2027upcoming
Required coursework and degree verification for matriculationJuly 1, 2027upcoming

Submit AACOMAS early for rolling review. Qualified applicants receive a screened secondary application. The Office of Admissions may grant an exception to the matriculation coursework and degree verification deadline.

Kansas Health Science University Osteopathic Medicine Admissions Statistics

Period: First-year enrollment cohort; mean GPA and MCAT cohort not specified

  • Average GPA: 3.53 mean cumulative undergraduate GPA; cohort not specified
  • Average test score: 496.9 mean MCAT; cohort not specified
  • 2024-2025 first-year matriculants: 176

KansasCOM reviews applicants on academic and qualitative criteria. Its published mean MCAT is not an admissions cutoff.

Eligibility Requirements for Kansas Health Science University Osteopathic Medicine

Degree / credits

A bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution is normally required. Exceptional applicants with 90 completed credit hours and all prerequisites may be considered without one; eligible 3+4 Partner students complete their bachelor's degree during their first year at KansasCOM.

Residency

Applicants from any U.S. state may apply.

Citizenship

Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents. KansasCOM does not accept international applicants or consider DACA applicants.

Admission pathways

  • 3+4 Partner Program: Eligible partner-college students may enter through an early-acceptance pathway; standard prerequisite and MCAT requirements are waived.
  • We Heart Program: Certified nurses, paramedics and other allied health professionals with a bachelor's degree and at least three years of clinical experience may apply through AACOMAS; specified prerequisites, the secondary and MCAT are waived.

Other requirements

  • Technical standards: Meet the program's health and minimal technical standards, with reasonable accommodation where applicable.
  • Post-acceptance screening: Conditionally accepted students must complete a criminal background check and pass a drug screening before matriculation.
  • Matriculation health requirements: Incoming students must meet the program's immunization and health requirements.

Selection Factors Kansas Health Science University Considers

Prerequisites

CourseRequirement
Biological sciencesrequired
8 semester hours including lab; grade C or higher.
Biochemistryrequired
3 semester hours; grade C or higher.
General chemistryrequired
8 semester hours including lab; grade C or higher.
Organic chemistryrequired
8 semester hours including lab; grade C or higher.
Physicsrequired
8 semester hours including lab; grade C or higher.
English or literaturerequired
6 semester hours; grade C or higher.
Social or behavioral sciencesrequired
6 semester hours; grade C or higher.
Anatomy or anatomy and physiologyrequired
4 semester hours including lab; grade C or higher.
Human physiologyrecommended
Cellular biologyrecommended
Geneticsrecommended
Immunologyrecommended
Nutritionrecommended
Histologyrecommended
Embryologyrecommended

GPA

How it is calculated

Both overall GPA and science GPA drive admissions decisions.

Minimum
No published admission minimum; a 3.00 cumulative GPA and 3.00 science GPA qualify an applicant for an automatic secondary invitation.
Competitive
Successful applicants most often have a cumulative GPA above 3.40 and science GPA above 3.35.

Applicants below the automatic-secondary criteria may receive individual review.

Admissions tests

  • MCAT (required): A valid MCAT is required for standard applicants, but 500 is the automatic-secondary threshold, not an admission minimum. The 3+4 Partner and We Heart pathways waive the MCAT.

Experience and volunteer hours

Recommended.

KansasCOM looks for exposure to health care, clinical experiences, community involvement and leadership. Its standard admissions requirements do not specify 100 healthcare hours.

Supplementary application

A screened KansasCOM secondary application and two recommendations are required: one from a physician, preferably a DO, and one from a premedical advisor or committee; a science faculty member or advisor may substitute if no premedical source is available. Recommendations must meet the school's recency rule. The secondary asks applicants to report and explain misdemeanor or felony convictions.

How applicants are ranked

KansasCOM screens the AACOMAS application, MCAT and academic record. Applicants meeting 500 MCAT, 3.00 science GPA and 3.00 cumulative GPA receive an automatic secondary; others may be reviewed individually. Complete applications and recommendations inform interview invitations. After interviews, the Admissions Committee reviews files, votes and recommends decisions to the Dean. Admissions are rolling.

Interview Format at Kansas Health Science University

Format: Interview

Virtual interview with a mix of traditional and MMI-style questions. Interviewers evaluate professional demeanor, problem-solving, coping skills and empathy.

Who is invited
Applicants selected after review of their primary application, secondary application and recommendations; an invitation is not guaranteed.
When
Personal interviews begin in August.

Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.

Prepare for Your Admissions Interview

Access Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.

Start Practicing Free

Curriculum at Kansas Health Science University Osteopathic Medicine

Program length
Four years
Structure

The first two years integrate foundational and clinical sciences, OMM, practical learning and early clinical experiences. The third and fourth years center on clinical clerkships; students can choose core-site or distributed clinical training.

Campuses
Wichita main campus

Teaching includes lectures, labs, case-based work, standardized patients and simulation, followed by hospital and clinic rotations.

Campus and facilities

KansasCOM's Wichita campus includes an OMM lab, anatomy lab and simulation center with inpatient rooms and outpatient examination rooms.

Tuition and Funding at Kansas Health Science University

  • 2026-2027 annual tuition, in-state and out-of-state: $61,754
  • 2026-2027 annual resident fees: $3,000
  • 2026-2027 health insurance fee: $4,751

AACOM lists an estimated $34,231 for annual room, board, books and living costs, plus a $2,000 nonrefundable acceptance deposit applied to tuition. Charges for the entry year have not been published.

Kansas Health Science University's Mission and Values

Our Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) program offers students unique and continuous exposure to interactive learning environments. Our curriculum focuses on several key concepts in modern medicine, utilizing cutting-edge technology and models in adult learning theory to facilitate student success.

What Applicants Are Saying

Matriculated students from KansasCOM's inaugural class describe a learning environment with highs in hands-on labs and lows in growing pains. Applicant feedback is available on Student Doctor Network (SDN); the SDN Interview Experience Score (SIES) aggregates impressions from multiple interviewees, highlighting overall satisfaction.

Shared by applicants and students on forums and communities. It is anecdotal, not official program information.

How to Prepare Your Kansas Health Science University Osteopathic Medicine Application

  1. Check all required courses and labs against KansasCOM's 51-semester-hour prerequisite list.
  2. Arrange a physician recommendation and a premedical advisor or committee recommendation, or an eligible substitute.
  3. Request transcripts and release official MCAT scores to AACOMAS early for rolling review.
  4. Review the technical standards and prepare the screened secondary application promptly.
  5. Prepare for a virtual interview combining traditional and MMI-style questions, including discussion of clinical exposure and service.

Frequently Asked Questions About Kansas Health Science University Osteopathic Medicine

Does KansasCOM require Casper for admissions?

No. KansasCOM's admissions requirements do not include Casper.

What is the minimum MCAT for Kansas College of Osteopathic Medicine?

A 500 MCAT earns an automatic secondary invitation; applicants below 500 can receive individual review. Standard applicants need a valid MCAT, with pathway-specific waivers.

What GPA do I need for KansasCOM DO?

A 3.00 cumulative and science GPA earns an automatic secondary invitation; lower GPAs may receive individual review.

Does KansasCOM have interviews, and what format?

Selected applicants interview virtually using a mix of traditional and MMI-style questions.

Are prerequisites strictly required at KansasCOM?

Standard applicants complete 51 semester hours of specified courses with grades of C or higher; qualifying partner and We Heart pathways have waivers.

Can international students apply to KansasCOM DO?

No. Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents; international applicants are not accepted.

What is the application deadline for KansasCOM?

The AACOMAS primary and KansasCOM secondary applications have separate deadlines; earlier in-state early decision deadlines apply. See the application deadlines listed above.

How competitive is KansasCOM admissions?

KansasCOM uses rolling, qualitative and quantitative review. Its published mean MCAT is 496.9 and mean cumulative undergraduate GPA is 3.53; neither is a minimum.

Sources

Last updated: September 26, 2026