← All Articles Oakland University PA Program: Admissions Guide 2026-2027

Oakland University PA Program: Admissions Guide 2026-2027

0 views
Oakland UniversityPhysician AssistantAuburn Hills, Michigan, United States2026-2027 cycle

Oakland University’s Master of Physician Assistant Science prepares students for entry into the PA profession through a full-time, experience-based education. Students develop clinical reasoning through classroom study, skills labs and patient simulation at Oakland West Center in Auburn Hills. The curriculum combines didactic study, clinical rotations and research experiences. The program emphasizes evidence-based medicine, compassionate care and collaboration across health care teams.

Program
Oakland University Master of Physician Assistant Science
Credential
MPAS
Location
Auburn Hills, Michigan, United States
Casper
Required
Interview
Interview
Length
28 months, full time, year-round

Casper Requirement for Oakland University Physician Assistant

Oakland University Physician Assistant requires Casper for the 2026-2027 cycle.

Test to book
Casper Situational Judgment Assessment

Check available Casper test dates in your Acuity Insights account at takecasper.com.

All applicants must complete Casper, and the score contributes to the application ranking. The program page does not specify a test code or accepted test languages.

Casper format

Casper is an online, open-response situational judgment test run by Acuity Insights. The current format has 11 scenarios (4 video-response and 7 typed-response) with 2 questions each and takes about 65 to 85 minutes, including optional breaks. Typed-response scenarios allow 3.5 minutes to answer both questions.

Practice with Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank, featuring 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert responses.

Oakland University Physician Assistant Application Deadlines 2026-2027

Apply through
CASPA
Applications open
April 30, 2026
Application fee
$100 nonrefundable Oakland University supplemental fee
WhatWhen
Submitted and CASPA-verified applicationAugust 1, 2026passed
Supplemental application fee paymentAugust 15, 2026passed

The published cycle is closed to new applications; the program has not published a subsequent cycle on its admissions page. The Graduate School emails payment instructions after CASPA verification; neither step can be omitted.

Eligibility Requirements for Oakland University Physician Assistant

Degree / credits

Bachelor’s degree from an accredited U.S. institution by CASPA submission; holders of degrees earned outside the U.S. must follow graduate international-admission policies and submit an evaluation from a current NACES member.

Language proficiency

Applicants whose first language is not English must demonstrate proficiency under Oakland University requirements.

Other requirements

  • Technical standards: Applicants and students must meet the program’s published technical standards
  • Pre-matriculation clearances: Health screening, immunization verification, drug screening, criminal background check and fingerprinting; applicant pays associated costs
  • Immunizations: Required for enrolled students; documented medical exemptions may be considered, but religious exemptions are not permitted

Selection Factors Oakland University Considers

Prerequisites

CourseRequirement
Human Anatomy with LabIn-person lab; online lab accepted only for 2020-2021 coursework
Must be complete before applying, with at least 3.0, within 10 years of the deadline.
Human Physiology
Must be complete before applying, with at least 3.0, within 10 years of the deadline.
English Composition
AP accepted. Must be complete before applying, with at least 3.0, within 10 years of the deadline.
Statistics
AP accepted. Must be complete before applying, with at least 3.0, within 10 years of the deadline.
Biochemistry or Organic Chemistry
Must be complete before applying, with at least 3.0, within 10 years of the deadline.
Medical Terminology
Must be complete before applying, with at least 3.0, within 10 years of the deadline.
Microbiology
Must be complete before applying, with at least 3.0, within 10 years of the deadline.
Developmental Psychology
Must be complete before applying, with at least 3.0, within 10 years of the deadline.
Nutrition
Must be complete before applying, with at least 3.0, within 10 years of the deadline.

GPA

How it is calculated

CASPA-calculated overall and prerequisite GPAs; AP credit is not included in CASPA GPA calculations.

Minimum
3.0 cumulative and 3.0 prerequisite GPA on a 4.0 scale

Admissions tests

  • GRE (not required): Scores not considered
  • MCAT (not required): Scores not considered
  • PA-CAT (not required): Scores not considered

Experience and volunteer hours

Required.

At least 500 hours of paid direct patient care in the U.S., completed within four years before submission. Also complete at least 16 hours of dedicated, in-person observation with two PAs; virtual, workplace and non-PA shadowing do not count. Document each PA’s name, credentials and observed duties.

How applicants are ranked

The admissions committee ranks verified applications with a point-based rubric covering undergraduate and prerequisite GPAs, shadowing, Casper and direct patient-care experience. Final offers combine application-rank and interview scores. Equally qualified applicants receive preference for specified underserved-area residence, economic disadvantage, first-generation status or veteran/active-reserve service.

Interview Format at Oakland University

Format: Interview

In-person interview with admissions committee members assessing PA-profession understanding, academic readiness, professionalism, communication, ethical judgment, leadership and service; interview structure is not specified.

Practice under timed, realistic conditions with Bright Doctor's AI Interview Simulator.

Prepare for Casper and Your Interview

Access Bright Doctor's Casper Question Bank with 100+ scenarios and 300+ expert-crafted responses, AI Interview Simulator with realistic practice conditions, and personalized mentorship from current medical students, all on one web-based platform.

Start Practicing Free

Curriculum at Oakland University Physician Assistant

Program length
28 months, full time, year-round
Structure

100 credits, with 16 months of didactic study followed by 12 months of clinical training

Campuses
Oakland West Center

The curriculum combines didactic study, clinical rotations and research experiences, with classroom study, skills labs and patient simulation supporting clinical reasoning development.

Campus and facilities

Students develop clinical reasoning through classroom study, skills labs and patient simulation at Oakland West Center in Auburn Hills.

Frequently Asked Questions About Oakland University Physician Assistant

How do I apply?

Submit a CASPA application and pay Oakland University’s $100 nonrefundable supplemental fee; the Graduate School emails payment instructions after CASPA verification.

Can I still apply for the January start?

No. The application must be submitted and CASPA-verified by the application deadline, and the supplemental fee must be paid by the supplemental fee deadline.

Is Casper required?

Yes. All applicants must complete the Casper Situational Judgment Assessment; its score contributes to application ranking. GRE, MCAT and PA-CAT scores are not considered.

What GPA and coursework do I need?

At least a 3.0 cumulative GPA and 3.0 prerequisite GPA. Complete every prerequisite before applying, with a grade of at least 3.0 in each course.

What clinical experience and shadowing are required?

Complete 500 hours of paid U.S. direct patient care within four years before applying, plus 16 hours of dedicated, in-person observation with two PAs.

Are interviews in person?

Yes. Selected applicants interview in person with admissions committee members; meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee an invitation.

How long is the program?

It is a 28-month, full-time, year-round program requiring 100 credits: 16 months of didactic study followed by 12 months of clinical training.

Can I apply with a degree earned outside the U.S.?

Follow Oakland University’s international graduate-admission policies and submit a current NACES-member transcript evaluation. Applicants whose first language is not English must demonstrate English proficiency under university requirements.

Sources

Last updated: September 26, 2026